Cashier (Female, Age 43) in Henderson, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 43 who works as a Cashier in Henderson, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCashier
Salary$50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationHenderson, NY
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Smaller job working cashier but helping out with the make up beauty department. Almost management status.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Cleaning, customer service, straightening items and assisting customers and their need while stocking shelves.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Insurance aetna

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others on a daily basis and for the msot part I like it unless someone is arguing and not working as a team.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My work is close to home and close to food and grocery stores. I like the close commute.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 1

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
close to home looking around

What was the application process?
application in person

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, questions asking about previous jobs and experience that I had. The interview was only with the manager and then I was hired.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, the cash register is a simple task for me.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I only needed a health card and to train for the cash register it was all fairly easy.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no. It is simple if you do not have an education or even if you do.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Apply online and have experience in the job.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Cash handling experience.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no necessarily just to know basics of a computer

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
To be prepared to work and not to be lazy and slack off.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, it pays the bills and I am happy.

What are your current career goals?
N/A

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No thank you.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1sales person6 monthsn/aStocking shoes doing more of cashiers work than being on the floor.
Prior Job 2sales person on floor3 monthsn/ahelping customers and interacting more thatn I felt neccesary.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.