Associate Deli Team Leader 

(Female, Age 37) from Phoenix, AZ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 37 who works as a Associate Deli Team Leader in Phoenix, AZ. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Associate Deli Team Leader
Salary $48,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Phoenix, AZ
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for wholefoods Market. An organic and natural and gourmet style grocery store. We are located all over the US and in the UK.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am an assistant deli manager. We have a very large deli department that sells prepared foods and has several food venues in it. Similar to a *food court*. I am responsible for everything the manager is responsible for, recruiting, hiring, counseling, firing, financials, ordering and preparing food, managing a labor budget. It is similar to running a small business.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Paid time off, can be used flexibly. Full health benefits, dental, 401K. Time off accrues with service hours(hours worked)

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I lead a team of 30 and work with customers all day long. I like both. Leading a team is both rewarding and frustrating, Working with customers is fun most of the time.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I am responsible for my team members (co workers) as a team leader.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 8
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 8

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral from my cooking school teacher. I went to an occupational center cooking school, it was inexpensive.

What was the application process?
Applied online, interviewed twice, hired.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I was interviewed by a group of people, regiona management, store management as well as team members. (employees)

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What did you do to prepare for this interview. How would you handle a difficult situation with a team member.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, my boss was not open with training. I had to acquire a lot of my training on my own.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
On the job training. Training from my boss (team leader) , self taught.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
My cooking school helped, but it didn’t teach me anything I didn’t later learn on the job so it wasn’t necessary.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Take some culinary classes, management classes at a community college. You can also start at entry level and work your way up with limited experience as long as you take initiatiave and work hard.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills(desire to please customers is a priority), organizational skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Take initiative, show interest in learning and work hard. Let supervisors know you want to move up.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yesm I always had an interest in natural/vegetarian food.

What are your current career goals?

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
At the company I work for, managers of departments are paid very well and benefits are very good. I don’t know how well people make out in other retail grocery stores and I am happy to work for the company I do.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 sandwich maker 6 months 8.50 hr made sandwiches, did food preparation, served customers
Prior Job 2 prepackaged food, catering 1 year 12.50 hr Managed prepackaged food area of deli department, made catering sales and prepared catering orders

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4 West Valley Occupational Center certificate in culinary arts/catering
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.