Senior Engineer (Male, Age 26) in Naugatuck, CT

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 26 who works as a Senior Engineer in Naugatuck, CT. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSenior Engineer
Salary$48,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationNaugatuck, CT
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Large World-wide IT company

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Fix broken POS equipment

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Overtime, stand-by pay, shift-differential

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Not really. I work by myself, and I don’t really like or dislike it.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I drive everywhere, which I like. However, I am mainly in retail, grocery areas so it’s hard to go places when I am not working and not think about the job.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 1
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amGet up and get ready for the day. If my shift starts @8 I need to leave the house by 7:30. Shower and vitamins, bowl of cereal, get my lunch in a cooler, that sort of thing.
8am to 9amget to my first job, fix some pc’s or pos equipment. Maybe even take 2 calls if they are close to each other
9am to 10amA little more of the same. Fix broken stuff, that’s my job.
10am to 11amGet on a conference call and listen to the newer techs complain about how things were done at the job they had before this one. Note – if you are working here “after” someone, you left for a reason.
11am to 12pmFix more stuff. I wish my life were more exciting but it isn’t.
12pm to 1pmTake a 1 hr. lunch break.
1pm to 2pmFix more stuff. I wish my life were more exciting but it isn’t.
2pm to 3pmFix more stuff. I wish my life were more exciting but it isn’t.
3pm to 4pmFix more stuff. I wish my life were more exciting but it isn’t.
4pm to 5pmFix more stuff. I wish my life were more exciting but it isn’t.
5pm to 6pmI drive home for about 5:30. Have dinner and call it a night.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
My old boss got me an interview.

What was the application process?
resume, then interview, then background/drug screening, then offer

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, there was one interview with the, at the time, 2 supervisors

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Why did you get into field service, a few technical questions, then BS about the job.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, but I was already prepared from my previous employer

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, there were a few classes, but most of what we learn is through on the job training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, but only technically. It did not prepare me to be on call and deal with those stresses.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to a technical school. Do not waste time at a 4 year college to get into IT.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skill, but above all else technical skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
YES.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
It takes getting used to. There is a period of adjustment to any job, but field service is a bit longer, say, 6 months to a year.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. They are a stepping stone to better things

What are your current career goals?
I would like to get into an office with IT, 9-5, lunch breaks, off on the weekends.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Nope. Oh yeah, don’t do it

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Engineer1 year32000Field Engineer… enough said
Prior Job 2clerk6 months22000Sold fish, etc. this job was while I was going to school

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3WCSUMusic Ed.
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.