Financial Analyst (Female, Age 44) in Southaven, MS

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 44 who works as a Financial Analyst in Southaven, MS. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFinancial Analyst
Salary$46,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSouthaven, MS
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
freight payment company for transportation industry

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
financial attribute coding, report analysis, invoice processing.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 1 week sick time, health insurance free for employee, discounted cost for family, matching 401K

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with about 12 other people in my department, and with 15-20 in other departments

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
in an office building, in cubicles. I dislike sitting all day.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am45 minute commute to the office
8am to 9amsign on to email. read email and respond to inquiries. pull up reports that were scheduled the day before.
9am to 10amsort data in reports. fill in coding for accounting attributes.
10am to 11amcall clients for missing information. fill coding into system. create spreadsheets for missing data. import spreadsheets into system.
11am to 12pmcontinue coding spreadsheets and importing into system.
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmcheck email. respond to inquiries.
2pm to 3pmset up new users in system. send out system instructions and passwords.
3pm to 4pmprocess paper invoices. deliver to data entry department. pick up mail from mailroom. sort and disperse mail received.
4pm to 5pmschedule reports for following day. set up accounting closes for clients. email reports out to clients.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
called by a placement company

What was the application process?
interviews

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
1 interview qith 2 managers & company president to see if I was a good “fit” with the people there.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
lots of questions about how I’ve handled certain situations in the past

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
not at first; long learning process, but they were patient

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
on the job training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes; accounting classes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
accounting classes in college, lots of computer experience

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
patience, friendliness with clients, ability to work well with others.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
bachelors degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
keep your opinions to yourself until you know what you’re doing; others who have been there longer probably do know more than you do.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no, but I make more money than in another field

What are your current career goals?
to continue working at something I like, and supporting my family

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
if you can’t make a living doing what you love, try to find things about your current job to love doing.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1sales coordinator5 yrs40000sales & customer support
Prior Job 2analyst8 yrs34000accounts receivable

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5univ of mississippib.a. poli sci/english
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.