Administrative Assistant 

(Male, Age 23) from Rochester, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 23 who works as a Administrative Assistant in Rochester, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Administrative Assistant
Salary $45,650
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Rochester, NY
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
4.5k undergrad Research University

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Manage schedules for three professors and attend to any duties given.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I do. It allows me to meet other people involved with Academia and to work towards my doctorate degree as well.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Wake up, brew some coffee. Have to be at the office by 930.
8am to 9am Shower, shave.
9am to 10am Check voicemails, take notes, give out daily schedules, fill coffee pot.
10am to 11am Check facebook (haha), answer phones, deliver messages, order lunch.
11am to 12pm Throughout the day, plan out schedules for upcoming semesters.
12pm to 1pm Lunch.
1pm to 2pm Take notes in the afternoon meetings, usually till 4 or so.
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm Make more coffee, set up final
5pm to 6pm Go home.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Job board at school

What was the application process?
Submit resume, wait on call back, 3 person interview process.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Three interviews, with each professor, separately.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What makes you more qualified for this position than most of our other candidates?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, not much prep was needed.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Not really, just shown around office.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not really.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
During college, get to know your professors and department. You can usually find a job inside of that.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills, ability to multi-task, remember small details.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No, although it doesn’t hurt to have a degree.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be ready for odd requests.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, just a road bump.

What are your current career goals?
Become an expert in my field.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No thank you.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.1 U of Rochester Math
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.8 U of Rochester Math

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.