Career Service Specialist 

(Female, Age 38) from Independence, MO

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 38 who works as a Career Service Specialist in Independence, MO. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Career Service Specialist
Salary 45000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 55
Company Size (not answered)
Location Independence, MO
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We are located in 38 states with over 128 campuse. It is a progressive technical university that focuses on technical skills form the get go. Its an advancedpogram that allows studnets of all ages to learn and gain technical fast in todays knowledge arena.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Coach students and graduates on resume writing soft people skills and network with employers in the community to help find placement for our graduates

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
One week vacation,sick pay, holiday pay, Cigna Health Insurance and 401K

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I work one on one with students and employers and I love it

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a part of the building that has no windows but huge open area that allows for everyone to come and go as they please. We are ll in an open envirnment

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 7
Benefits: 8
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 1

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
Submit resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had to have 3 interviews and a individual interview with teh Direcector of the school

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
my behavorial interview questions

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no I did not get the proper training and had to learn as I went

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
research the company nad how the company oerates to understand the education department

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
open social skills and minimul computer skills, networking abiyt and previous recruiting skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
To take your time and really learn how the educational field works

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes

What are your current career goals?
advance in the educationl industry

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Operations Manager 2 1/2 yrs 58000 Ran office and two onsite locations
Prior Job 2 Onsite recruiter 3 yrs 41000 resumes interviewing hiring

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.