Information Technology Consultant (Female, Age 23) in ALBANY, OR

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Information Technology Consultant in ALBANY, OR. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleInformation Technology Consultant
Salary$45,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
LocationALBANY, OR
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Academic, 500+ employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Code

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, i like, like to work with people

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office/lab

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 5
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI drive to work. It’s 15 miles away from my house.
8am to 9amAnswer emails. Answer phone calls. Have meeting with boss. Have meeting with supervisor.
9am to 10amCode on current project. Collaborate with fellow workers.
10am to 11amCode on current project. Collaborate with fellow workers. Help people with Qwizdom.
11am to 12pmCode on current project. Collaborate with fellow workers. Give qwizdom workshop.
12pm to 1pmCode on current project. Collaborate with fellow workers. Write up documentation on qwizdom worksho.
1pm to 2pmCode on current project. Collaborate with fellow workers. Attend any meetings scheduled.
2pm to 3pmMeetings with team.
3pm to 4pmPhone conference with Qwizdom corporate.
4pm to 5pmGo home. 15 mile commute.
5pm to 6pmNot at work //at home
6pm to 7pmNot at work //at home
7pm to 8pmNot at work //at home
8pm to 9pmNot at work //at home
9pm to 10pmNot at work //at home
10pm to 11pmNot at work //at home
11pm to 12amNot at work //at home

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
resume electronically

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, 2 hours of questioning by boss + proj manager

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What are your weaknesses

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, because it was in a different field.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, lots of project based experience in college.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes, i liked the environment

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to college and get a masters in CS.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
lots of coding and background in the field

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Listen well and heed advice. STudy on your own time

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
YEs, great experience

What are your current career goals?
Gain experience

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Intern1 year30000CS intern
Prior Job 2Programmer3 years45000Programmer

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.89

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5016Carroll CollegeBA in Computer Science, Spanish and Mathematics
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.