Family Outreach Worker (Female, Age 51) in San Antonio, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 51 who works as a Family Outreach Worker in San Antonio, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFamily Outreach Worker
Salary$41,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSan Antonio, TX
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Urban school district, 350 square miles, 113 schools, educational Pre-Kinder – 12th grades.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Identify students who are eligible under the McKinney-Vento Homeless Education Program and assist them with school enrollment. Provide supportive casework services to help them overcome barriers to their educational goals.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
sick leave, work a 213 calendar day year, retirement system

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under to well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I enjoy working with children and their families.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a school setting. I like working in the schools because it’s so dynamic and challenging.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 5
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amCommute to work
8am to 9amBegin my work day, get my work assignments, check email, schedule appointments
9am to 10amContact clients, counsel and provide guidance, referrals, social services
10am to 11amMore client contacts, consult with school personnel, advocate for clients, attend meetings at schools
11am to 12pmCase recording and documentation
12pm to 1pmLunch break
1pm to 2pmAssess client needs
2pm to 3pmProvide direct services to clients
3pm to 4pmHomevisits
4pm to 5pmprepare for following day, close out appointments,work day ends at 5:00 pm
5pm to 6pmDrive home
6pm to 7pmMy family time
7pm to 8pmMore family time
8pm to 9pmPrepare my children for bedtime
9pm to 10pmWind down for me
10pm to 11pmSleep
11pm to 12amSleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
electronic application and letter of intent, resume and reference letters

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Group interview with three program coordinators.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What qualifications do you have for the position?

How do you handle stressful situations?

Do you speak Spanish?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Learned about the program objectives on my own, employer was available for discussion, but not that involved.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
On the job training, shadowing a co-worker for a short period.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Absolutely! I had the courses necessary to prepare me and field practicum to give me real experiences.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Definitely, it helped me use what I learned in school in my day to day work.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Volunteer at various social service agencies to find out if you like helping people. You need to go to college and earn the highest degree you can attain in the field.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Interpersonal skills, empathy for others, organizational skills, human behavior and systems theory, networking skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
The higher the college degree the better and licensure is extremely important.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
On the job training will serve you well, You gain expertise in your field by up on professional journals, case consultation with colleagues, attending workshops. Love what you do and know that what you do matters.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes I am a life long Social Worker

What are your current career goals?
I would like to be able to coordinate Social Work services in the school district.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I don’t see myself getting rich doing my line of work. My worth is not measured by what I make, but by what I do.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Social Workerseven years40000Campus Social Worker providing counseling to students and their families, Provided parent education, community advocacy
Prior Job 2Student Assistance Counselortwo years40000Provided drug and alcohol prevention education to students, referred students to needed social service programs.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7Our Lady of the Lake UniversitySocial Work
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.8Our Lady of the Lake UniversitySocial Work

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.