German And Math Teacher (Female, Age 28) in Roseville, MN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a German And Math Teacher in Roseville, MN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleGerman And Math Teacher
Salary$41,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationRoseville, MN
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for MN Virtual Academy, an online school serving kids in grades K-12. I have 6th-8th grade German students and 9th-12th grade math and German students. It employs about 70 teachers and has roughly 1200 students. It is sponsored by the Houston Public School District.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible for creating live lessons for students, working one-on-one with them, setting the class pacing, and maintaining communication with students and families.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
6 days sick leave, 4 personal days, 403b, dental insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I’m as well compensated as any teacher

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work from home, but I also work with others virtually. I like this, for the most part. It is nice to have face-to-face contact, but I love the freedom to schedule my own hours even more.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work at home in a dedicated office. I like it because I have a space for work, and because I have freedom. I don’t always like trying to balance work and home, but I”m getting better.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 6
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amPersonal time – breakfast and driving my daughter to preschool.
8am to 9amPreparing for the day – checking email from students and responding to any questions that they asked. I also look over my schedule for the day and make sure that I don’t forget any one-on-one meetings with students or live class sessions.
9am to 10amThis was our general faculty meeting. Today we broke out into department meetings and I went with the math department. There are two new teachers in the department, so the other experienced teacher and I answered questions about how we did our class and our policies regarding late assignments and tests. We also discussed getting students ready for the state-mandated testing in the spring.
10am to 11amPersonal time – playing with my infant daughter.
11am to 12pmLive lessons for Algebra and Algebra II. I showed a prepared power point and worked through examples of course material. I also had mini-quizzes and activities for students to participate in. At the end I wrapped up by having a chance for Q&A and letting the students chat with each other.
12pm to 1pmPersonal time – lunch
1pm to 2pmOffice hours – this is a time for students to come in and ask any questions they have about the day. When students weren’t in my virtual office, I checked email and took care of attendance and grading.
2pm to 3pmThis was the end of my office hours, and then I took some personal time with my infant daughter.
3pm to 4pmThis was time for more email, contacting parents, and preparing the next day’s presentations.
4pm to 5pmPersonal time – household work and dinner preparation.
5pm to 6pmPersonal time – dinner
6pm to 7pmPersonal time – playing with my daughters
7pm to 8pmI spent this time doing more work on the next day’s presentations, answering email, and grading.
8pm to 9pmPersonal time – getting my daughters into bed.
9pm to 10pmPersonal time – personal email and projects
10pm to 11pmBed
11pm to 12amBed

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Education job board in my state

What was the application process?
Emailed resume, transcripts, and license

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interviewed once over the phone with the HR director and the principal. Then I interviewed face-to-face with the same two people.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked about my experience in education, why I felt qualified to work online, and my comfort level with working from home.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No – it would have been nice to have had more time to work with the technologies and programs used, but I was hired shortly before the school year started.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes – there was training with the specific programs we use for education.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes – I was well rounded and knew subject matter well

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes – it was in-the-field experience

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend him or her to get a teaching degree, and to become as familiar with online learning as possible. He or she would benefit from taking a course focused on technology in learning, especially if it included online learning. It would also be a benefit to have taken coursework online.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
This person would need subject matter knowledge to instruct others, comfort with technology since online teaching is done pretty much completely by computer, and time management skills since there’s no day-to-day accountability.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes – a BA and a teaching license

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I hated it my first year, and you might too, but give it a year or so – it’s so different from what you might expect that it takes a little bit to really like it.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes it is. I want to be a teacher my whole life, and that’s what I’m doing now.

What are your current career goals?
To continue to be a teacher, but to pick up more certifications, such as coaching or gifted & talented.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It’s a growing field in education, and I’m glad I’m in it!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1teacherone year36000Teaching math to at-risk students in a charter school in downtown Minneapolis as well as providing tech support to teachers.
Prior Job 2long-term subone year120/daylong-term substitute in the fields of Spanish, math, and sciences

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.9Concordia College MoorheadBA German
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.9Hamline UniversityMA Teaching

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.