Social Worker 

(Male, Age 29) from new york, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 29 who works as a Social Worker in new york, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Social Worker
Salary $40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location new york, NY
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
it is a large organization of 100 employees, my office only has 8 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I provide counseling services for people with disabilities. I assist with therapy sessions and help clients to receive services specific to their disability.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
1 week sick leave, partial health insurance.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel I am under compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10am I arrive at work. I establish rapport with clients. I monitor them for breakfast. I talk with them about their issues.
10am to 11am Private session is held with client. He expresses his feelings about life. He talks about problems with diet, friends, and music. I help him with issues and things seem to be better.
11am to 12pm Group session is held with three people. They talk about their weekend. They express problems with food, sleep, and medication. I counsel the group and I see a little improvement.
12pm to 1pm half hour lunch is taken. I do paperwork. there is alot of paperwork.
1pm to 2pm Staff meeting is held. We discuss budget issues. We talk about funding. We schedule the next meeting.
2pm to 3pm Private session with a client is held. He sounds very angry with life. He hopes that his friend stops bugging him. He is angry and I try to calm him down.
3pm to 4pm Group session is held with four people. We roll play their problems. We talk about their problems. One member is particularly upset and I try to help her as best I can using intervention skills.
4pm to 5pm I do more paperwork. I play games with clients as a form of therapy. They talk about their problems as they play games.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.