Graphic Designer 

(Female, Age 36) from cookeville, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 36 who works as a Graphic Designer in cookeville, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Graphic Designer
Salary $40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location cookeville, NY
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
its a smallish company that does local graphic work & signs for area business’s. curently there are about 50 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
i design and print brochures etc for local business’s

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4 weeks vacation, 4 days of personal/sick days, 401k, health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
i am happy where my slary is

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
i work with fellow employees and customers daily. i love working with customers, especially when they know exactly what they want.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
sometimes i work in the office, a lot of times i work at home.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral from a friend

What was the application process?
just walked in and talked to the owner. also showed a lot of my graphic work to that point.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, 1 interview wwas hired on the spot.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
just how long i had been doing graphic work. and if i could work well with people

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. they told me exactly what was required for the job. and the standards i would be held to

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no. i was self taught.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
to learn ALL about graphic design. and know just because you think you can do it, you may not be able to without good training

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills, computer skills, communication is key.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
to learn all sorts of different programs and to roll with the changes

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, i plan on being in this industry for as long asi can

What are your current career goals?
to learn more about my field and to excel in it

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 sales associate 5 yrs 23000 stocking and helping customers
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.