Claims Examiner (Female, Age 34) in Chicago, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 34 who works as a Claims Examiner in Chicago, IL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleClaims Examiner
Salary$38,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationChicago, IL
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We are a Third Party Administrator, that administrates worker’s compensation claims for big companies.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Administors Workers compensation claims, Pay medical bills, administors employess medical care and return to work full duty.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacation, Health, dental, eye insurance; 401 k. Disability.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes; I enjoy it becuase some examiners are more experienced than others so if we have questions we could always go to other team memebers and get advise. Also we handle many different State Jurisdictions so there are many different laws.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 1
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 8

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amCommute to drope off the kids at babysitter.
8am to 9amArrive at work, get breakfast and coffee. Log into all systems, computer and phones.
9am to 10amWork on paperless system for one hr everymorning.
10am to 11amStart diaries (Diaries are our workload) Each claim has a reminder on what needs to be done. Mainly make the medical calls, return all voice mails received. Take all incoming calls.
11am to 12pmStart with the new daily claims that came in for today, review and prioritize.
12pm to 1pmTake lunch, take a walk grabe some fresh air. Review personal email.
1pm to 2pmStart calls for all new losses. Do interviews with employees on their new claims, explain process and benefits, make compensability decision.
2pm to 3pmMeeting with supervisor, Manager and Regional Manager in regards to goals and expectations to the Audit that is being done next month.
3pm to 4pmReturn any calls that came in, finish the new claism, Authorize any medical
4pm to 5pmReview over all mail system, faxes that came in and emails from collegues in regards to claims.
5pm to 6pmWrap up and get ready to catch the train to go pick up the kids.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet, referral

What was the application process?
Online profile with company’s webside, entitled a resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes it entitled two interviews. One with the Manager and the second with the Unit supervisor.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Questions were your level of experience, organizational skill. An exam online as to your personality and how well you work with others. A small test as to how well you could handle the different states.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, they provide a lot of classes to keep us up to date with the laws

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, computer training, seminars, lunch n learns

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, you need to know who to handle programs on the computer and speak well.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go and get the medical background, it entitles a lot of medical terminology. So it helps if you have had pervious experience with medical.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organizational – Becuase you work with so many different reports and tasks. Social Skills – Due to the amount of providers, supervisors and employee you deal with on the phone.Technical skills – Everything is done thru systems, we are a paperless company so everything is on the computer.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes; Associates or Bachelor

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Expect a lot of work and stress, it is very overwhelming.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, there is still a lot of room for advancement

What are your current career goals?
Complete my Bachleors degree.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Not at this time.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Clearical assistance2 years30000Filing, setting up claim
Prior Job 2Collector6 years29, 000Accounts receivable.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
University of IllinoisAccounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.