Medical Assistant (Female, Age 35) in Gladewater, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 35 who works as a Medical Assistant in Gladewater, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMedical Assistant
Salary$37,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationGladewater, TX
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Patient care, Pre Employement Testing, Trauma Care of work related accidents.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Drug screen collection, Drug screen reporting, Breath Alcohol Testing, Patient Care (Vital Signs, setting the patient up to see the doctor)Vision testing, Hearing test, Vaccinations, Respirator Fit Testing, Proceedure set up.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
On Call, Paid Vaccation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I do work with others I see around 70-100 People a day. This is something I like I love working with people

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Clinic/Doctors Office

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 1
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 1

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
A friend working in the office

What was the application process?
online application and two interviews and a peer interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Two interviews one with the supervisor and one with the clinic manager also a peer interview with my coworkers

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What qualifies you for this job? What about you would make me want to hire you?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes we have a 6month probation to learn our job in

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes there was a 1 month shadow of co workers

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes it also helped me to choose where i would want to work when i graduated

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Medical Assistant class/Occupational Medicine would be the two courses I would look into.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Must be good with people we strive in our clinic to be the best in customer service after all they are really the ones paying us. Must be detailed.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
To be patient and take every chance you can to educate yourself more on the way your clinic works

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes I plan on going forward in my medical career and studying emergency medicine.

What are your current career goals?
To become a registered nurse and work in emergency medicine.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Forinsic Collector3 years22000Breath Alcohol Testing, Drug Testing, Hair Testing, DNA Testing, Educating Employers to preform onsite testing, Training of new employees
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Tyler Junior CollegeMedical Assistant
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.