Lpn (Female, Age 44) in Centralia, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 44 who works as a Lpn in Centralia, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLpn
Salary$36,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationCentralia, NY
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for an Orthopaedic Surgeon. He has only 2 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Job Duties: Schedule appointments; seat patients; prepare injections; remove stitches/staples; provide surgical information; schedule surgery; answer phones; provide work notes; pull charts; etc.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation; 40 hours sick pay; health insurance; dental insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Very well compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with one other employee. We have worked 3 jobs together and get along well together.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a Medical Building that houses several doctors. We have a suite with a waiting room and 3 patient rooms along with our office area and the doctor has his own office/room.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amHeading to work.
8am to 9amOpen the office. Turn on lights and unlock doors. Answer phone calls and make appointments/answer questions. Call in scripts if necessary. Arrange patient charts for the day.
9am to 10amTake patients to rooms. Remove stitches/staples if necessary. Prepare injections as needed. Photocopy new orders. Make follow-up appointments. Schedule surgery if necessary.
10am to 11amSee 9-10 am.
11am to 12pmSee 9-10 am.
12pm to 1pmLunch Hour.
1pm to 2pmSee 9-10 am.
2pm to 3pmSee 9-10 am.
3pm to 4pmSee 9-10 am.
4pm to 5pmCreate History & Physicals for patient scheduled for surgery. Fax replies to Physical Therapy departments as necessary. Fax Script to Pharmacies as necessary. Attend to any miscellaneous work needing done.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Friend

What was the application process?
Filled out an application with resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I was interviewed by 2 doctors. They asked about my work experience, what hours I preferred to work, if I had any experience in Orthopaedic Surgery.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Do you have any experience in Orthopaedic Surgery? How long have you been working as a nurse. Would you be free to work part-time or would you prefer full-time? How do you know Trella (she is the one I worked 2 other jobs with)?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Fill out an application.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Nursing/Secretarial skills – filling syringes using sterile technique; removing stitches/staples; disposing of biohazard waste; socializing with patients to ease their nervousness; answering phones; typing…

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes. At the very least a high school diploma and a bit of medical knowledge.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Always be friendly; arrive to work early or at least on time; do your work!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I plan on working for my current employer until he retires and then I will seek out another like him!

What are your current career goals?
I really like working with others. I will continue in the same venue if given the opportunity.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Just that I have found my niche in this world.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.