Warehouse (Male, Age 34) in mount washington, KY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 34 who works as a Warehouse in mount washington, KY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleWarehouse
Salary$35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationmount washington, KY
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Its a nationwide distribution center to fast food chains

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Filling orders, double checking when auditing

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401k, 1 week vacation, 4 personal days, dental, vision health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I do work with people on a daily basis. We have to work together before we can leave. One cleans when the other fills orders and vice versa. If one doesn’t finish their work or hold up his end of the bargain, we all go home late. I hate it.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
It’s a big distributions center. Frankly, the best part is being able to wear what you want to work.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amAt 7, I am already up and filling orders. Each order comes in for each store. I have to go find them, stack them on a pallet, pull them down from storage with a jack that weights 10,000 lbs if there aren’t any already ready to be shipped.
8am to 9amOne I’ve filled orders, I have to group them together into routes – certain pallets will go with certain trucks. The ones that are close to each other in location will go on the same truck. Generally, I start auditing after that – I check over my work to make sure all the items requested are on the pallet and in the correct quantity.
9am to 10amOne they have been checked over, it’s time to sticker each item with a color code to let the restaurants receiving the shipments sort through and verify it quickly. Then I wrap each pallet with shrink wrap, label which store it’s going to and load them onto a truck.
10am to 11amSince my shift beings at 6, it’s already time for lunch.
11am to 12pmI go back and do the same thing over again. I try to get 60% of my routes filled early in the morning – we generally have 525 routes. I like to have close to 350 done. I grab the next order on the next route and begin filling it.
12pm to 1pmSame thing. I audit my routes, double check a few other employees routes, then it’s time for labeling the pallets and shrink wrapping them.
1pm to 2pmGenerally I finish my routes early and it’s time to clean the warehouse because of the massive amounts of trash that accumulates. There’s actually on-the-clock time to clean, so I have to punch out, then punch the timeclock again to let them know I’ve moved on to a different task.
2pm to 3pmI take a 20 minute break, then punch back in the timeclock to clean some more. at this time, i might get on the forklift to bring some more pallets down from storage and restock the dock for the 2nd shift.
3pm to 4pmWrap up everything, clock out, go home.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
I submitted an online application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I interviewed with the office manager individually, then the general manager, who hired me.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
It’s been over a year. It was pretty standard. Why I left my last job, ect.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, they actually have a great training program.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
It was a month of training, gradually filling orders and working with a trainer. Each weak, I would have to fill 125 more a day.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I doubt you need all that much education for my job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Not at all.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
I think organization skills are the most important. It’s hard to keep your mind of 6 different tasks at once.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Probably not. my co-workers aren’t that smart.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would say to make sure you really want to get into it – or make sure you’re desperate for money enough to stay.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, I plan to go back to school in April to get a college degree.

What are your current career goals?
I would like the be an arborist.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No, just that I want to do something I actually like.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1employee1 year13.5I fixed the credit/debit card readers for retailers
Prior Job 2server1 yeartipsJust usual fine dining as a server.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.5
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.