Therapeutic Case Manager (Female, Age 28) in Kent, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Therapeutic Case Manager in Kent, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTherapeutic Case Manager
Salary$35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationKent, NY
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Non profit agency focusing on youth– homelessness, foster care, counseling, transitional living, and the like.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Individual and family therapy. Psychoeducational groups. Case coordination and management.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacation, health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Work with people everyday. I like it– Im a therapist.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office, in foster homes, in biological family homes, in schools, in group homes. I dont like the amount of office work– lots of paperwork.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amoff
8am to 9amoff
9am to 10amArrive at work. Check voicemails and emails, return.
10am to 11amStaff meeting with team. Discuss program changes, state changes.
11am to 12pmContinued staff meeting.
12pm to 1pmLunch
1pm to 2pmContact foster parents and inquire about weekend and behaviors.
2pm to 3pmSchool meeting at a middle school to discuss individual education plan of a student who is new to the school.
3pm to 4pmContinued IEP meeting.
4pm to 5pmTransport youth back to foster home.
5pm to 6pmoff
6pm to 7pmoff
7pm to 8pmoff
8pm to 9pmoff
9pm to 10pmoff
10pm to 11pmoff
11pm to 12amoff

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
Resume and cover letter, paper application, interviews.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
2 interviews, one with program manager and one with staff.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Dont recall.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. My program manager has a hands off approach. You have to be pretty proactive to get what you want out of the position.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Master’s in counseling. First aid/cpr, nonviolent crisis de-escalation, tons of continuing education.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I had a good theoretical knowledge base.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, working in community mental health is a interesting experience.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get your AA at a community college, then transfer for a four year. Get your masters at a state school and DO NOT TAKE OUT PERSONAL LOANS FOR LIVING EXPENSES.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Empathy, solid social skills, communication skills, the ability to make connections with people, the ability to work with resistant people, strong boundaries, good coping skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, it requires a master’s degree.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Get all of the training and hands on experience you can. Use your supervisors. No matter how incompetent, they have years worth of experience to glean.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Im not sure. Still havent figured out what I want to be when I grow up.

What are your current career goals?
Licensure.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Nope.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Intern1.5 years0Counseling intern. Provided assessments, intake, individual and group therapy.
Prior Job 2Program Specialist II2 years12/hourPsychoeducational groups for acute adult unit. Safety and supervision

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.45Seattle UniversityBCJ in Criminal justice and psychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.5Argosy UniversityCounseling Psychology

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.