Veterinary Technician 

(Female, Age 38) from Long Beach, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 38 who works as a Veterinary Technician in Long Beach, CA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Veterinary Technician
Salary $35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 20
Company Size (not answered)
Location Long Beach, CA
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Avian and exotic animal hospital. We treat all kinds of exotic animals, as well as domestic.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Assist veterinarian with examinations, injections, anesthesia, pre-surgical setup, assist in surgery procedures and aftercare. Read lab report results to clients and answer client questions regarding animal care.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
no benefits

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Driving to work.
8am to 9am Give morning treatments to animals at hospital. Go through each chart of each animal at hospital and note general appearance and condition and any other pertinent information.
9am to 10am Compile lab reports for veterinarian to interpret and write up. Assist veterinarian with his appointments and take grooming and vaccination appointments of my own.
10am to 11am (same as 9am -10am)
11am to 12pm (same as 9am -10am)
12pm to 1pm break for lunch
1pm to 2pm assist veterinarian in surgery
2pm to 3pm (same as 9am -10am)
3pm to 4pm (same as 9am -10am)
4pm to 5pm (same as 9am -10am). Leave work at 5pm.
5pm to 6pm driving home from work
6pm to 7pm home
7pm to 8pm home
8pm to 9pm home
9pm to 10pm home
10pm to 11pm home
11pm to 12am home

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.