Fuel Accounting Reconciler (Female, Age 27) in Ridley Park, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 27 who works as a Fuel Accounting Reconciler in Ridley Park, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFuel Accounting Reconciler
Salary$34,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationRidley Park, NY
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a fairly large, privately owned company which provides retail products and gasoline.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
reconcile fuel vendor statements with store entered data. Process weekly check runs.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 3 personal datys, 60 hours sick leave, insurance, 401k, tuition reimbursement

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel that I am undercompensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others daily and enjoy this, I also enjoy working on my own.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I enjoy my office work environment.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 7
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 1
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive to work near 6 am. Read and answer emails, listen to and answer voicemails
8am to 9ambegin to reconcile vendors for the week
9am to 10amReconcile vendors
10am to 11amReconcile vendors
11am to 12pmContinue to reconcile vendors for week
12pm to 1pmtake 45 minute lunch – take 15 minute walk as part of corporate program
1pm to 2pmReconcile vendors
2pm to 3pmReconcile bulk fuel terminal
3pm to 4pmReconcile stores
4pm to 5pmReconcile stores
5pm to 6pmReconcile stores
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I worked in the retail sector of the company

What was the application process?
electronic application and resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
interview with my supervisor

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
n/a

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Slight training sitting with supervisor

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Be assertive about your skills, show attention to detail

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
computer skills (excel), analytical skills, the ability to learn new things and attention to detail

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I feel you should have at least a BA

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
It is a lot of work without much compensation but could be a good starting point.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, would like to stay at company and rise in the finance department

What are your current career goals?
Get MBA and higher level position in finance

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I enjoy the company I work for but do not feel the hiring/promotion practices are always fair.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1assistant manger7 months30000Trained new employees, customer service
Prior Job 2tss1 year27000worked with troubled youth

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:?

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Temple UniversityBA psychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
just enrolledColumbia CollegeMBA

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.