Teachers Aide (Female, Age 24) in stratford, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Teachers Aide in stratford, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTeachers Aide
Salary$33,150
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationstratford, NY
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
the firm i work for is a school that is for autisic children. It is a rather small organization that employs 50 teachers, teachers aide and office personal.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
my duties are working in a classroom with the children, we have to teach them in different ways for they are non verbal. I am responable for three students each day, and also overseeing others.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance ,dental, life insurance sick days,

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes with the head teacher in the classroom and also the other teacher assistants

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
it is a school building it is rather on the old side i would love to see it more up to date

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 8
Benefits: 7
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amup in the morning shower eat breakfast get ready to leave for work
8am to 9amin my classroom students arrive preparing for the day
9am to 10amworking with the students doing our projects and education with them
10am to 11ambreak for students back to teaching
11am to 12pmlunch for the students
12pm to 1pmstudents are back from lunch and so are we and we continue our day working with them
1pm to 2pmwe usually have a fun hour for them and they enjoy this very much can be a movie, our playing some games
2pm to 3pmstudents will be finishing up there day and we will be preparing them to leave this is a long process with the autistic children
3pm to 4pmafter school work in classroom going over what we will try to accomplish for tommorow
4pm to 5pmon my way home from work
5pm to 6pmhome, eating dinner and trying to unwind
6pm to 7pmdoing whatever chores i need to laundry etc
7pm to 8pmwatch a little television go on computor
8pm to 9pmrelax
9pm to 10pmrelax
10pm to 11pmoff to bed
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
i found it in the newspaper

What was the application process?
first a resume than i had two different interviews a drug test and finger printed and a background check

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes i had to interview two different times one was with the head of the school, and one was with a group of teachers

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
do i enjoy working with children, can i deal with behavior problems, questions on what i would do in different occasions of problems, and overall could i handle it

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes we have training every month on the children we work with

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
cpr, training for behavior problems, lockdowns etc,

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes it helped but alot of it became hands on and learning by working in the field

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
for the most part it did, but i really learned more when i started working one on one with the students

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
to get there degree in teaching in special education,

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
strong social skills very high tolerance of working with children with special needs. strong skills in organization and the ability to want to help children

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes a teaching degree our at least a associte degree in human services

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
you have to have a great deal of patience for some days you feel that you are getting no where with the children, hard work drains you and the pay is not that good

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes i would like to remain there and become a head teacher, i like the school and my co workers and i have a good repore with them

What are your current career goals?
to become a head teacher to go back to school part time and get my masters degree

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
this is a wonderful career if you enjoy working with special needs children,

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1teachers aide2 years10.50/per hour
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
southern cthuman services
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.