Receptionist (Female, Age 55) in sunrise, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 55 who works as a Receptionist in sunrise, FL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Receptionist
Salary $31,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 35
Company Size (not answered)
Location sunrise, FL
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Dcotors office receptionist

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Answer phones, make appointment, billing.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Medical and Dental

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Like the interaction with patients

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office building pleasant surroundings

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am Arrive in office check the phone calls messages
9am to 10am Answer phones, make appointments.
10am to 11am greet patients, answer phones, type a letter on the computer.
11am to 12pm Fax a referrel
12pm to 1pm make appointment, open mail, make a few calls,
1pm to 2pm answer phones, make appointments as well as enter cancellations.
2pm to 3pm Do some billing and faxing insurance claims
3pm to 4pm Fax referrel, collect payment,
4pm to 5pm Straighten up desk, answer phone, make last appointment for the day. Put the answering maching on. Leave for the day
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Local newspaper sun sentinel

What was the application process?
Interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Interview with Dr.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked mostly if I would be able to be in for the long haul and that if I had any young children or respsonsiblies which would interfere with me being able to be punctual and reliable

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I was taught the procedure that was required for this office

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes another girl in the office trained me on the phone and trained me to do billing as well as how to enter details into the computer

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not really but computer courses were beneficial

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
No

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Look in the want ads, craiglist , local paper

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Definitely social skills, must like people and be plesant. Must be well organized and have knowledge of computer

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Must be computer literate and be able to type

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
To have some knowledge of how an office runs and to be able to type

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is not part of my career plan because I really wanted to work with small children but this is rewarding never the less

What are your current career goals?
there are no career goals at this time

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
In life one never knows where the road shall take you and sometimes you have to comprimise because of relocation and circumstances

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Paraprofessional 45000
Prior Job 2

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.