Back Office 

(Female, Age 30) from cincinnati, OH

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 30 who works as a Back Office in cincinnati, OH. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Back Office
Salary $30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 24
Company Size (not answered)
Location cincinnati, OH
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We are a small privately owned investment firm, handing stocks, bonds, mutual funds.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Helping clients that need a new stock certificate. paying out customers have due bonds, or coupons. Opening new client accounts.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with about 10 other people in the office, and some days clients come in and we work with them also. Usually I talk to clients on the phone. I love talking to clients.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 8
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Through a friend.

What was the application process?
Submitted paper application and my resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interviewed with the CFO as I would be working under him in the back office. It was fairly simple, asking about previous jobs and so forth.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
previous jobs, experience. people skills, computer skills.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
very much so. enough training and helpful sheets.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Not really. A bit about how to open the new accounts. but I already new the systems and most of the papers required because I used to work at a bank.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, because it makes you feel like you can relate to the others that you work with.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
It would take a college degree. but there really are not many jobs like the one that I have. Most investment firms are now part of a larger affilate like a bank. Working for a bank can be very rewarding so go online to your local bank with their headquarters located near you and apply.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You must be social! You have to talk with clients and co workers all through the day. As far as organization, you are dealing with clients Social security numbers, bank account numbers and so forth and you really dont want to lose them. Using the systems are pretty simple once you watch someone use them

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
not really

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
work hard. try and go above and beyond what is expected of you. Anyone can do the bare minimum!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
not really. I want a job where I can move up and really shine. I want a chance to work with more people!

What are your current career goals?
finishing my degree.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Assistant Manager 2 years 36000 Opening and closing store. training new hires. Cashing out registers at the end of the evening. Helping customers
Prior Job 2 Loan Closer 3 years 35000 Opened new auto loans for clients. worked with under writing to get loans approved. handle all paper work and title work for the customer. write the checks for the title and the car. train all new closers. helped create an automated system to print out title work. made new employee manual.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5 NKU Business Management
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.