Medical Transcriptionist (Female, Age 32) in Hampton, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a Medical Transcriptionist in Hampton, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMedical Transcriptionist
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
LocationHampton, NY
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I would for a national chain of physical therapy offices. Each office staffs between 5 and 20 employees, with over 100 offices

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I transcribe all medical documents. Communicate with physician’s offices

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401K, 21 days

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
my job is usually a solitary position as I am listening to tapes all day long. I have to interact with people when there are corrections to be made or a tape is inaudible.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office. I like being out of the home for a time, but my office should be more secluded to allow me total concentration as distractions are very common.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amAt home making breakfast for my son and getting him ready for school
8am to 9amdropping my son off at school
9am to 10amdoing everything I can around the house before I have to pick my son up from school. Laundry, vacuuming, dishes, getting dinner ready
10am to 11amrunnin errands before picking my son up
11am to 12pmpicking my son up from school, getting him home, feeding him lunch and getting myself ready for work
12pm to 1pmoff to work. Arriving at work going strait to my desk to see how many tapes I have to transcribe and what they are. Putting them in order of priority
1pm to 2pmgathering the patient charts that go with the tapes that have to be transcribed so that I can see as well as hear what was discussed. If there is something I cannot understand audibly I may be able to find it visually.
2pm to 3pmtranscribing
3pm to 4pmtranscribin
4pm to 5pmtranscribing
5pm to 6pmtranscribing
6pm to 7pmtranscribing
7pm to 8pmtranscribing
8pm to 9pmgetting everything ready for the next day. Collecting the transcriptions I have done for the day from the physicians and placing them in the appropriate folders, to be faxed to physcians, to be corrected, to be filed
9pm to 10pmHome sweet Home
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper

What was the application process?
resume, interview, background check

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I interviewed twice. Once with the office manager to get a general take on my knowledge and for her to get a feel if I would fit in with the other staff, then a second time wiht the clinic director to see how much knowledge I actually had in the field.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
They were based around my previous experience and schooling.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I came to my employer for my job.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I had to goto college for this position and pass a state exam to become accredited

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Goto college and receive education. It’s not a position that you can just walk into. There are guidelines for transcription and you have to have medical terminology knowledge.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Very disciplined, ability to work alone, very important to have an attention to detail, medical knowledge, grammer skills, excellent typing skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
absolutely

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Make sure it’s something you really want. You need to goto school, obtain a fairly large amount of information, have the ability to manage yourself and your time, the ability to work alone, it requires a lot of discipline.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No. I plan on doing something I love …once I figure that out

What are your current career goals?
To hold onto this position as long as I can with the current economic situation

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It’s a very self diciplined career.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Office Manager10 years50000OFFICE MANAGEMENT
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.4BOCESMedical transcriptionist
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.