Office Manager (Female, Age 54) in tallahassee, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 54 who works as a Office Manager in tallahassee, FL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationtallahassee, FL
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I currently work for an engineering firm specializing in sub division of land. There are currently 2 licensed engineers, 3 draftsmen and 2 construction personell and one support staff person

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
general office management, correspondence, permit application prep. accounts payable/receiveable. Billing and invoicing

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacation,health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes it does. I enjoy interacting on a daily basis with co-workers

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amOpened office. Checked e-mail and phone messages. Answered accordingly
9am to 10amEnter receiveables and payables. Cut payable checks, enter payroll information
10am to 11amcut payroll checks
11am to 12pmcatch up on correspondence, scheduling of clients
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmschedule clients, call vendors
2pm to 3pmcontinuation of above
3pm to 4pmcontinuation of above
4pm to 5pmcontinuation of above
5pm to 6pmclose office..go home
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
job placement organization

What was the application process?
resume and personal interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. Interviewed with the job placement agency then with current employer

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
hmm…why i recently moved to tallahassee, as it was a temp to possible permanent position, what starting $$ i was looking for, if i was looking for a permanent position, what my skills where etc.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
not really…my job experiences for the past 25 or so years qualified me

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I used a job placing service when I moved to Talahassee 3 years ago. I would recommend the same

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good communication skill, good facilitation skills, organizational skill, writing skills, computer skills as well as bookkeeping skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Organizational skills, and listening skills are needed

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no…

What are your current career goals?
to continue looking for employment in my field of not for profit community improvement

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Executive director7 years36000Executive Director of a community improvement volunteer based not for profit
Prior Job 2Execitove Director6 years30000Executive Director of a downtown improvement not for profit organization

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Royal Academy of Art / LondonBA Fine Art
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
UC BerkleyMFA

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.