Labor & Delivery Tech (Female, Age 28) in Pevely, MO

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Labor & Delivery Tech in Pevely, MO. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLabor & Delivery Tech
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week20
Company Size(not answered)
LocationPevely, MO
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Large hospital

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Checking on patients, stocking, orders, general floor duties

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I love working with patients

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
hospital

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amHeading home from working the night shift
8am to 9amTaking a shower and going to bed.
9am to 10amSleeping
10am to 11amSleeping
11am to 12pmSleeping
12pm to 1pmSleeping
1pm to 2pmWaking up and eating.
2pm to 3pmGod dressed and ran some errands.
3pm to 4pmWent Grocery Shopping
4pm to 5pmN/A
5pm to 6pmGot ready for work, ate dinner
6pm to 7pmDrove to work and clocked in.
7pm to 8pmFound out job assignments, What needs to be done still. Got vitals on all patients that needed them.
8pm to 9pmCatching up on patient registration papers. Entered orders into the computer for lab work.
9pm to 10pmStocked the closets and patient rooms. Checked on the O.r. to make sure it was ready for a delivery later on.
10pm to 11pmEmptied trash cans and cleaned work station.
11pm to 12amTook a short break and checked on moms and babies.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
transfer from another hospital

What was the application process?
electronic application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, interviewed with immediate supervisor and floor supervisor.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Describe yourself, why do you think you are a good fit for this position?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, plenty of training oppurtunities

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, shadowing someone for a few weeks until they felt I had the proper knowledge of the job duties.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, gave me the upper hand because I already had some knowledge of the field

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to school to get some training

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Be very friendly and personable.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Pay attention/

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I want to go back to school for nursing.

What are your current career goals?
Become a registered nurse.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love it!!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1L& D Tech3 years20000Taking care of labor patients.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8Allied medical collegeMedical assistant
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.