Supervisor (Female, Age 47) in Wauwatosa, WI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 47 who works as a Supervisor in Wauwatosa, WI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSupervisor
Salary$29,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week38
Company Size(not answered)
LocationWauwatosa, WI
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A specialty retail store that carries numerous items for the home along with food and wine. The store has about 300 stores in a number of states.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Opening and closing of the store, shipping and receiving, unloading trucks, loading customer vehicles, merchandising, pricing, signage both regular and sale, answering phones, helping customers, maintenance of the store including sweeping, cleaning bathrooms, breakrooms, back dock, outside the building, inventory, ordering, and other duties.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks of vacation and 3 sick days.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes with both customers and co-workers. Yes, I enjoy working with other people. Customers bring a great deal of satisfaction when you can help them find the item or items that they came to the store to purchase. Co-workers are very enjoyable also and make the days go fast.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Retail store setting has many features that you expect to see in a store. This is both a fun place to work and to shop. The only negative item about the job is the lack of help available at times for moving large pieces of furniture by yourself or getting things down with a ladder and not having a co-worker available to help with these tasks. This can be very dangerous at times and there have been accidents.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 6
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 2

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I drove by the store before it opened and there was a trailer in the parking lot with a hiring sign.

What was the application process?
Filled out a paper application, interview on the spot of about 20 minutes and was hired.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. My supervisor interviewed me. The next day she spoke with the store manager to discuss the interview and then offered me the position.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
How would I handle an irate customer? How would I handle the employees? Would I have respect from the other associates if I was moved up into this position?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I watched the other supervisors and asked questions before I became a supervisor. The job really is very simple so training did not take very long. There were also sheets to follow step by step for the cash register drawer procedures. Any questions I had were quickly answered by my boss.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. Basically I needed to learn the computer process for balancing the cash drawers at the end of the day and opening store procedures. I also needed to learn how to use the RF gun to receive truck merchandise and the computer program to complete the necessary paperwork.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. Basic education from high school is all that is needed for this job. Basic math skills from school. Computers were not in the school when I went to school and therefore learned basic computer skills on my own which worked for this job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
There was no internship available for this job.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would suggest trying out as a cashier and see how you like interacting with customers and stocking shelves. A person should work in a store where they feel comfortable with the merchandise sold. Using the products yourself will help sell to the customer, but reading about the merchandise, looking at it and testing it out in the store will also help. If this is a retail store that you are comfortable with, then proceed to take the steps for more responsibility until you reach the supervisor status that you wish.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organizational skills are very useful, the ability to work independently, to teach others, allowing yourself to be taught additional skills or techniques from your fellow co-workers, have very basic computer knowledge, have basic math skills for balancing money drawers and giving change to customers, be a person to care about the people you come in contact with every day, be friendly with your employees, but still have the authority to make sure the jobs get done in a timely, efficient and correct manner.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No. Most of the work envolves common sense, treating customers and employees how you wish to be treated and learn a few procedures for how the store runs such as computer program to look up merchandise and entering money amounts into the computer to balance the drawers for the night.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Make sure you are not afraid of people. You need to be a people person. If you don’t like working with people, then this field is not for you. You need to have passion for the job that you do and to make sure that can meet deadlines and be able to handle doing many different tasks at the same time.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, because I enjoyed shopping at this type of store and enjoy the products that the store sells. The store is close to home and enjoy the people I come in contact with every day.

What are your current career goals?
Working at my current job for a few more years and then move into an office job. I am getting older and not sure how long I can keep up all the physical part of the job. I am so use to moving around all day that moving into an office setting will be an adjustment and not sure if I could handle that. If office doesn’t work, maybe a different style of retail where you are still interacting with people on a daily basis, but without all the heavy physical work.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I have enjoyed the various jobs I have held and learned many different areas of both the office and retail world. All my jobs have had many good qualities and a few negative qualities. Overall, the jobs I have held have made me a more rounded person and appreciate the different work environments of those I come in contact with. I have many experiences that I can relate to others and also be able to share some ideas and techniques with them.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Supervisor10 years19000Worked third shift receiving merchandise, merchandising and ensuring proper signage throughout the store whether sale or regular price signs were up. Ensuring current and new schematics were up to date and making the necessary changes.
Prior Job 2office manager8 years25000Payroll, placing ads in newspapers across the country, billing and receiving, filing, telephone work, ordering supplies, hiring and training of new employees, typing, computer work, process all mail both incoming and outgoing, maintain reception area, maintenance of the office and many other duties.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.