Secretary (Female, Age 23) in North Bergen, NJ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Secretary in North Bergen, NJ. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Secretary
Salary $28,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 30
Company Size (not answered)
Location North Bergen, NJ
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
It is relatively small, 10> people. We issue visas to people traveling across the middle east, Asia, and South America.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Answer phone, organize office, make the applications.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 5 sick days

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, I enjoy working with others.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office, I don’t like how small it is.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 8

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am commute
8am to 9am check calls from yesterday, attend to customers.
9am to 10am review perspective clients, answer calls
10am to 11am head down to the consulate and deliver new applications ready to be mailed out
11am to 12pm Pay the fees for the day’s applications
12pm to 1pm lunch
1pm to 2pm put checks in bank account and write some if necessary
2pm to 3pm second set of applications to be submitted online
3pm to 4pm fax all paperwork to and from clients
4pm to 5pm Finish the day with calls, last e-mails, and close the office
5pm to 6pm commute
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, individual with manager

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
computer skills, work with others, etc.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes because it is basic secretarial work

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Know how to use a computer

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills, organization skills, technical skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Keep up and maintain a pleasant upkeep

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no because it is not my field of choice

What are your current career goals?
retain masters, go into teaching

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
My career puts food on the table and that’s all that’s important.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 sales associate 2 years 7.5
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.9

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8 Rutgers Business
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.