Cashier (Female, Age 47) in Yuma, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 47 who works as a Cashier in Yuma, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCashier
Salary$28,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationYuma, NY
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Convienance Store gas station

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Waiting on customers,Cash Control,Register operation,Maintaining shift,Product sales.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I work gaily with other employees.I like this very much

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 5
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Walked in

What was the application process?
submitted resume with application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
one on one interview with the store manager,gave job history,talked in detail about job qualifications

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what I liked about wanting a job like this,what were my plans in the future

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I was properly prepared for this kind of job and no stone was left unturned,

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
over 30 years experience, the knowledge of what was expected from the job

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Great math skills great communication skills,the ability to express verbally in an intelligent manner

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
not applicable

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
fill out an application.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
great customer skills,patience,knowledge of math,ability to work in a fast paced environment,good attitude,multi-task

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
knowledge of cash handling,cash register,good communication skills,the ability to read and write

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
always be alert,always be polite,dont argue,pay attention to every detail,

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
current employer has given me the learning and knowledge and techniques of my future career plan has a business owner

What are your current career goals?
operating and owning my own business in the future

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
not at this time

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Cashier2 years1100sales Clerk,Cashier,Gas attendant
Prior Job 2Assistant Manager5 years1300Assistant manager,sales Clerk,Cashier,Gas attendant

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4University of PhoenixBusiness Management
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.