Chiropractor And Instructor At Chiropractic College, Also A Teaching Assistant (Female, Age 28) in Vancouver, WA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Chiropractor And Instructor At Chiropractic College, Also A Teaching Assistant in Vancouver, WA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleChiropractor And Instructor At Chiropractic College, Also A Teaching Assistant
Salary$28,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationVancouver, WA
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Chiropractic college with about 400 students.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I teach chiropractic adjusting technique labs as well as assist in teaching some. I am responsible for helping to make chiropractic students good chiropractors.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I love working with other people and helping them to learn their profession.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amDriving to work at 7 AM to begin class at 7:30 AM. Helping the lead instructor teach students (answering questions, helping them set up adjustments on the neck).
8am to 9amBreak at 8:30 for 10 minutes, then back to answering questions and putting the students hands in the right position on the patient; walking around the classroom to watch students set up an adjustment.
9am to 10amBreak at 9:20 for 10 minutes. Begin teaching a class at 9:30. Demonstrate orthopedic tests on a student.
10am to 11amMore of demonstrating orthopedic tests, then having students do them on other students. I walk around and critique them and answer all of their questions.
11am to 12pmSame as above until 11:30. I’m on a break from classes, so I’m doing this survey.
12pm to 1pmStill doing this survey, then will have a break.
1pm to 2pm1:40 class begins and I again help students set up adjustment and give them constructive criticism.
2pm to 3pmBreak at 2:30, 10 min. Helping students with questions and adjusing skills.
3pm to 4pmBreak at 3:30, 10 min. Students ask me questions about Board Exams and when they will find out info about when to sign up for them on campus.
4pm to 5pm4:30 break, 10 min. Back to teaching. I explain to students what I would like them to do with their student patient and what they should be feeling when they set up an adjustment and what their thrust should be like.
5pm to 6pmLeave at 5:30.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
by being a student at the chiropractic college

What was the application process?
verbal interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interviewed with my boss and told him I was willing and able to teach the classes he needed an instructor for. All graduates of this college have nearly the same ability to teach their knowledge, they just have to ‘want’ to teach it.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Are you available? Would you be willing to teach [this class]?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, chiropractic college curriculum.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to college for 4 years, then attend a chiropractic college for another 4 years, then you can have a job like mine after you graduate and pass Board exams.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They must have social skills to be able to teach a class. They must have chiropractic skills such as adjusting, anatomy knowledge, etc. They must be semi-organized to teach classes.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
If they were already a chiropractor, I would tell them to make sure they know what they’re talking about before they try to teach it, because students will question them and sometimes challenge them.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, because I make money here so I can pay my bills until my practice grows enough to support my bills.

What are your current career goals?
Have a thriving chiropractic practice and help my patients have a better quality of life.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Everyone should see a chiropractor in their lifetime, not necessarily very often, but at least once a year because we ALL have some sort of dysfunction or pain somewhere in our bodies that should be fixed with a chiropractic adjustment.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Lead Instructor1 yr42/ hrTeach students
Prior Job 2Teaching assistant3 yr22/ hrhelp teach students with the lead instructor

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.6ClarkAssociate in Arts
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.2Western States Chiropractic CollegeDoctorate of Chiropractic

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.