Eliglibility Counselor 2 

(Female, Age 30) from Dandridge, TN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 30 who works as a Eliglibility Counselor 2 in Dandridge, TN. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Eliglibility Counselor 2
Salary 25000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 37.5
Company Size (not answered)
Location Dandridge, TN
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the government.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I interview clients.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Sick Leave, 12 days Vacation, 401k match, health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with lots of people. And I enjoy it most of the time. 🙂

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a call center. I’m in a small cube every day. It is not my favorite thing about my job.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am I begin work at 7:30 am. I attempt to get to work around 7 so I can read emails and get prepared for my day before the clients start calling in.
8am to 9am Calls start around 7:30 and go non-stop. I answer questions about client’s cases, complete interviews, screen applications for eligibility and attempt to finish up any cases left hanging by other case workers.
9am to 10am Take Calls
10am to 11am On Tuesdays I have a unit meeting from 10-11 am. In this meeting we discuss any policy changes, issues, and receive feedback on monthly stats.
11am to 12pm Take Calls
12pm to 1pm Lunch
1pm to 2pm More Calls
2pm to 3pm More Calls
3pm to 4pm More calls until 4. I usually stop taking calls at 3:30 and process any left over paperwork until time to go home. Officially I clock out at 4, but usually I’m still working for awhile after that.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
Electronic Application and Test

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
They asked if I graduated college.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes there was a four month training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get a degree and learn how to tell when people are lying.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills, organizational skills, tough skin, the ability to leave work at the office, and addiction to coffee helps.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
It gets better.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes

What are your current career goals?
Having a job that helps pay the bills 🙂

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Nope

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Asst. Store Manager 5 years 18000 I managed a video store and it was awesome.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.9 Carson Newman Religion/Sociology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.1 Carson Newman Counseling

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.