Office Specialist Ii (Female, Age 31) in Corvallis, OR

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 31 who works as a Office Specialist Ii in Corvallis, OR. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Specialist Ii
Salary$25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationCorvallis, OR
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for Oregon State university. There are just shy of 10,000 employees and around 20,000 students here throughout the year.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Administrative support for department head, accoutning, seminar planning, travel arrangements, supply ordering, general office duties.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401K, Dental/Medical/Prescription/Vision insurance, 75% staff tuition discount

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Slightly undercompensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I am in a front office position, but it’s fairly quiet. I interact with about a dozen people during the day and enjoy it. It gets a bit boring when there are never people to talk with.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My office isn’t located by many other people’s offices, so it gets a bit lonely in the afternoons when I’m the only one here.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amWake up, drive to work.
8am to 9amCheck email and calendar for the day, check morning campus mail, put mail in faculty/staff boxes. Make copies of paperwork done the previous afternoon, put in campus mail for afternoon pick up.
9am to 10amWork on monthly departmental newsletter, check calendar for faculty travel dates, submit draft of newsletter to supervisor.
10am to 11amScan document for faculty, email document. Get department head and accountant signatures on travel documents.
11am to 12pmPersonal time-study group
12pm to 1pmPersonal time-lunch
1pm to 2pmCheck afternoon US Mail, put in faculty/staff boxes. Check morning email. Personal phonecall.
2pm to 3pmEnter graduate program applications into filemaker database. Enter travel reimbursement documents into accoutning program. File graduate program paperwork.
3pm to 4pmCheck afternoon campus mail, put in faculty/staff boxes.
4pm to 5pmClean office, sorting through old notebooks and files. Recycle paper. Lock up offices and clean break room.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was already on campus in a different position when I saw this one listed on the employment website.

What was the application process?
There was a 6-page application and a couple of essay questions.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interviewed with about 4 people (all at once). They asked me about my experience on campus and in the private sector.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
A lot of the questions were about working in a group, personal work style, challenges I’d faced, etc.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I think I have been well prepared and continue to attend training sessions as the need arises.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I went through quite a bit of accounting training, as well as training on software like BlackBoard. I have also gone to a lot of diversity training as part of my role working with students.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I think my education has helped a bit. Working on campus you get asked a lot of random questions, and being able to call on life experience and education is a very important part of the job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Gaining basic office skills is the most important thing to begin with. This might mean taking some free online courses to learn different software programs or getting in touch with campus training to see if there are classes available for those seeking jobs on campus.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Orginization and people skills are a must when dealing with faculty, students, staff, and grad student needs, as well as those of the general public. Time management plays a vital role.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I think that a couple of years college are helpful, having some general knowledge about many different topics helps. A high school diploma would be the bare minimum I would find suitable.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would say take advantage of every training opportunity. Even if you don’t think you’ll need skills you gain immediately, they pay off in the long run. Networking is also very important. Working on a university campus is all about who you know and how well you can refer students and the public to someone who can help them, even if it means sending them to a different department.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
This is a gateway to other career options. By working on campus and finishing my degree I’ll be able to move into something far better.

What are your current career goals?
My immediate goals are to finish my bachelor’s degree and move into a graduate program. In the mean time I hope to move into an office manager position within the next couple of years.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Working in academia is somewhat insular and nothing like the private sector. People who take jobs on campus usually stay here for a very long time, in one capacity or another.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Office Specialist I2 years16800General office work, web design, accounting
Prior Job 2Purchasing Manager3 years29000Accounting, International import/export, secretarial

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.87

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.88Oregon State UniversityAmerican Studies
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/AN/AN/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.