Administrative Assistant 

(Female, Age 35) from Poughquag, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 35 who works as a Administrative Assistant in Poughquag, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Administrative Assistant
Salary $25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Company Size (not answered)
Location Poughquag, NY
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
The company that I work for is a construction company. They specialize in Framing, Roofing, Siding, and all other aspects of construction. There are about 11 employees including me.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I make the schedules as to where the crews are going for the day. I do the billing, letters to clients and making appointments.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others. I enjoy being around other people.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 8
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 3

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. I only had 1 interview. I was interviewed by 1 person. My boss asked me questions about my experience. My boss also wanted to know if I knew anything about construction.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I don’t remember.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. He explained how the company does things in the computers.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. My husband is in Construction and I went to college for 2 years and took classes in this field.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I learned alot in college about this position.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend having experience. If you get a job like mine and can’t do it it is just a waste of time for your employer and you. You can take classes at your local colleges to learn the new computer programs that are out there.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They need to have very good organization skills. There are alot of different things that I do. It can get very confusing sometimes when you can’t find what you are looking for.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
You should take classes at the local colleges like typing, excel, powerpoint, word. Take some business classes. I did.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Don’t get stressed. Take your time when you are working on a job because if you screw up it hurts everyone else and you have to take time to start over.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Assistant 5 21500
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5 Dutchess Community College Business
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.