Assistant Manager/Bookkeeper 

(Male, Age 26) from Madison, WI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 26 who works as a Assistant Manager/Bookkeeper in Madison, WI. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Assistant Manager/Bookkeeper
Salary $25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Company Size (not answered)
Location Madison, WI
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Work for a small hotel (nonchain) and work with 6 employees, not including housekeeping.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Managing the paperwork, including money, rooms sold, APR, etc.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
for what I do, well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I do work with others, but only ocassionally. I don’t mind it, as I can usually track down who made the mistake if I have the person in front of me.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 8
Benefits: 4
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Walk in

What was the application process?
Filled application, submitted resume, hired immediately

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not really, but I was able to take it and make it my own pretty quick.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Not really. The person I was taking over for was not interested in helping me succeed. Thankfully it only took a few days to see what they did on the paperwork.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, having some college helped, especially with the math and organization.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Walk in, be honest, and hope for the best. Small places like this do not appreciate pushy applicants.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Know basic math, be organized, be willing to work odd shifts.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
at least highschool

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be very flexible in when you can work.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Not at all. I work there strictly for the paychecks, job security, and that they are flexible for me.

What are your current career goals?
I hope to finish my degree in International Business and work for a company who strictly does manufacturing in SE Asia.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
If you are looking for management in the hotel industry, either with a huge chain or something local, do not waste your time with a degree from a college stating you can do that. A degree in hotel management is such a waste considering that most are promoted from within.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 New Store Opening Consultant 4 years 35000 Help open new stores by training management and staff. Weed out those who you do not see making the fit into the position.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.6 Univ WI 2 year associate, still in
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.