Freelace Copy Writer (Female, Age 35) in Addison, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 35 who works as a Freelace Copy Writer in Addison, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFreelace Copy Writer
Salary$22,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationAddison, TX
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I do content writing for the internet, using SEO writing techniques.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible for writing content to client specifications, using keywords. Rewrites and edits are sometimes required with this job, and they must be performed to a deadline.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
None other then working from home

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I make slightly less than averavge for this position but working from home balances some of that out.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Generally, I do not have to speak to anyone else in the company. I can, and occasionally must attend meetings with editors. This makes no difference to my job, since it is largely a solitary one.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Generally, I work from my kitchen table where I can see my son. This is the best perk I can think of. Occasionally, I work from other places like parks, restaurants ad while traveling. The ability to work anywhere and at anytime is one of the best things of the job.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral from a friend who worked in the company.

What was the application process?
Application on line and a test article. The first week also included several test articles that went to actual clients.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No interview was necessary, my work and performance was my interview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
N/A

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. I went from writing my own things to having to do specialized SEO work and ghostwriting for places like e-zine. None of the guidelines for anything have ever been given to me.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
None, I wanted to write and had developed habits on my own prior to this.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
In general, yes, but only because I liked English and reading in school.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Apply and work very hard at it. This job takes practice to get to a livable wage, and the more you do it the easier it is. Loving to read, write and be able to take boring topics and lean about them is a must, as is liking to know weird facts.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Fantastic English and grammar skills. You must also have the ability to work under deadlines to meet them and be a self starter and self motivated.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
High school equalivent at least.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Keep a second job in the background until you get comfortable.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, but I wanted to be a writer. Eventually, I plan on using this to work in another type of field.

What are your current career goals?
Get a fashion design degree and work as a fashion writer/use it to advertise for my own business.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is hard, it is lonely, but if you feel like you have to write, it pays well enough to do it.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1CSR5 years16000Answer phones and did sales on products sold on TV
Prior Job 2CSR1 year15000Sales of office products on phone, tech support for their website for the customers

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.