PCA (Female, Age 27) in nathalie, VA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 27 who works as a PCA in nathalie, VA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitlePCA
Salary$20,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
Locationnathalie, VA
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
i work in a home health agency i am a pca and go to other folks houses who need help physicaly to complete daily needs safely

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
i go in to the homes of mostly elderly folks to cook clean and or help bathe and frees. i assist in the doctor visits and take daily vital sighns such as blood pressure and wieght. to ensure the health and safety of an individual who can no longer do it safely alone

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes i work with my patients.depending on the patient it can fun or stressful.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
in others home. depending on the home depends on if i liike it i generally do thiough

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 6
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8ami arrive at work at 7:55am. im a PCA. i go to a elderly womens house and remind her to take her 8:00timed medicine. i get the pill and water for her and i bring it to her in bed.
8am to 9ami began to staraighten shheets and put any dirty clothes she have used in the washing machine.
9am to 10ami encourage her to wake up and prepare her breakfast of ream of wheat. i boil the water and pour in the cream of wheat i stir and add butter an equal. then pour it in a bowl to cool. while cooling i bring her her dentures and help her change out of any wet clothing then i bring her her food.
10am to 11ami remind her to take her after breakfast pills. i bring them and water to her. after breakfast i remove the food and proceed to clean up the cooking supplies an didhes.
11am to 12pmi then proceed to transfer the laundry to the dryer. and keep an eye on her while she is watching tv. At twelve i turn the news on and sit with her
12pm to 1pmi help the women to the bathroom to do daily needs and then after helping back to chair i wash hands and prepare lunch.
1pm to 2pmi give her her lunch and meds and then i prepare my lunch. i sit down with her and eat with her i finish before her and clean up my mess and any didshes needed to be done. i then take the clothes out of the dryer and fold them and put them away. by this time she is done i clear her table and put her feet up to rest.
2pm to 3pmat this time she is watching steve harvey and im sitting watching it with her and listening for if she needs help . she needs to go to the bathroom so i walk with her to help make sure she dont fall
3pm to 4pmi help her bathe and put on a clean housecoat then i began dinner.
4pm to 5pmwhen dinner is done i put in on the table covered clean up and make sure all messes or clear say hello to my patients children who has come home say goodbye to my patient and start to go home. after i get home i write up a summery of the day and any problems are changes to to give to the attending rn in my company.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
friend

What was the application process?
i took a training class

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. they asked me quetions took my urine sample and copys of identifacation. and gave me the adress of my first patient

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what was your previos job why did you leave?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes a week long classs on safety

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
no

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
go instead all the way for the cna degree

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
patients and a understanding

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
smile and be kind

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no i want more money

What are your current career goals?
go to school evebntuallty and get a better paying job

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1pca1 year15000same as now but different company
Prior Job 2cashier1 year20000take orders ad get momey

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.