Para Professional (Female, Age 42) in carson city, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 42 who works as a Para Professional in carson city, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitlePara Professional
Salary$19,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
Locationcarson city, NY
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a public school district

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am currently working in a pre-k class. We have 2 classes which each have 20 kids. I do all the teaching of preschool with the otehr 2 staff

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
full health dental and vision insurance, work 9 months a year,75 hours of sick leave per year, all holidays and school vacations are paid

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel that I should be making more money

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with 2 other people in the classroom. I really enjoy it becasue we are a team.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a classroom and like it

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI am getting ready for work
8am to 9amI get to work, make coffee and make sure the classroom is set up for the day
9am to 10amwe are doing different work stations in the class. we have an art center, math center, writing center,reading cneter and computer center
10am to 11amthe kids are finsishing up the centers, we are getting snack ready, they eat snack then we go outside to play
11am to 12pmthe kids go home and i go tolunch till 12:00
12pm to 1pmwe do a repeate of the morning session
1pm to 2pmrepeate of the morning session
2pm to 3pmrepeate of the morning session then the kids go home at 2:45. i get off work at 3:00
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I looked up school districts in my area

What was the application process?
i applied and attached my resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes I was interviewed by the principal, and teacher

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I don’t remember any of the questions but they were pretty general questions.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes they explained in detail the job expectations

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
You will need to have a BA college degree or take the state Para Professional test. Pass a drug test and be fingerprinted.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
you must like kids and be a team player

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Just go with the flow of the classroom and be a team player and if you don’t know something just ask.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes i usually work in special education but due to budget cuts i got demoted

What are your current career goals?
I would like to get back into special education

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
working in the schools is great. you get great hours , weekends off and lots of vacations

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1para professional11 years18000
Prior Job 2

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.