Sales Associate (Female, Age 23) in fort wayne, IN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Sales Associate in fort wayne, IN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSales Associate
Salary$17,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
Locationfort wayne, IN
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A work for a large electronics retailer. We specialize in large and small electronics as well as parts, batteries and cellular merchanside. My organization is comprised of about 5,000 stores nationwide.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
On a daily basis I assist people with their technological needs, process wireless transactions and take care of common retail store tasks such as works the register and unpack new merchandise.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 1 personal day, healthcare and dental insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
i feel that i am being compensated well in accordance to my position

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, at my job I do work with several employees and managers on a daily basis. This is something I enjoy becuase I feel I am in a very diverse and culturally aware environment and get along very well with my co-workers. We help each other out on certain topics that one might not be familiar with but the other is.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a retail store that is located in a shopping plaza. I like working in that particular location because there are several stores nearby and I can always go get some shopping done on my break or before or after work.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10amOn days I open the store, I come in and make coffee right away. It is usually about 30 minutes before any customers come in so I try to tidy up and clean the counters and prepare things that I will need to use during sales and service.
10am to 11amCustomers come in and I assist them with the technological needs they have. Ranging from selections of the right cables to the finding of a particular battery, I help customers get what they need. Wireless transactions are also something I process on a daily basis.
11am to 12pmThis time seems to be the busiest for wireless transactions such as activations and contract extensions. Customers come with their cellular phones and either upgrade and extend a contract or we assist them with their devices if they are malfunctioning.
12pm to 1pmI usually take lunch around this time so I am not at work.
1pm to 2pmThroughout the day most of the transactions I complete include either cable, parts, battery, electronics, or wireless phones sales. They do not vary one from another very much.
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
submitted application and resume online

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I had one interview which was done by the hiring manager at my store.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
The process included questions of prior sale experience, current and future goals, and questions on what I could add to the company as an associate. Also monetary details were briefly gone over.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I definately feel that the training process was detailed enough to prepare me for my job.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. Training consisted of packets and materials going over certain parts and products that are sold. Several sales techniques and tips as well as ways to get over a “no” customer.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I do feel that the college experience I have facilitated me in being successful at my job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
For our particular company, all applications must be submitted online. I would recommend for that person to submit an online an application and politely call a near-by store and have the manager review it online. If it is of interest, the manager will take the proper steps to hire that individual.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Skills neccesary in my level of work, sales that is are as follows. I believe you need to be a very social and interactive person. You need to have an active imagination and also lots of patients. As far as technical skills, most of those can be learned from on the job training. It is very important to have organization skills and know how to work in an environment with other co-workers and be aware that sometimes your opinions and ways of doing things will collide with that of others and you need to know how to handle those differences.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes I feel that having a higher-then-high school education is very beneficial in this job because of the diverse level of challenges one encounters on a daily basis.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would advise that person to take in everything very carefully and pay attention to all the detail. I would let them know that the first part of the training that has to do with the technical aspect of the job is very important and deserves much emphasis. I would also advise them to pay particular attention to the way other representatives handle clients and communicate and listen to the customers. Also, it is very important to come up with your own way of helping clients that you are comfortable with.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. My currernt employment in sales is the area I would like to specialize in once I’m done with my education. I would most likely like to move to a corporate position but stay in that area of work.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to finish my bachelors and find a company, or continue with my current company but move up towards the corporate area and deal with the human resources part of the job.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I enjoy working in sales and feel that it has given me great experience and opportunities to grow not only in a sense of career development but also personally. I feel that the skills I have obtained from my current job will greatly benefit me in my future career.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Customer Service Rep6 months6000processed and issued new and renewed identification, processed vehicle and boating titles as well as commercial driving transactions
Prior Job 2Customer Service Rep4 months6000Assisted with preparation of individual and commerical taxes as well as marketing plans

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5indiana university fort wayne university purdueorganizational leadership & supervision
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.