Customer Service Rep. (Female, Age 21) in pittsburgh, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 21 who works as a Customer Service Rep. in pittsburgh, PA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCustomer Service Rep.
Salary$16,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
Locationpittsburgh, PA
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
it is a tax company that is all over the US

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Inbound and outbound calls, answering customers basic tax questions, researching more in-depth questions, making appointments, appointment reminders, some basic office work including filing.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, I like it, it makes the job more entertaining

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office setting. I like it but wish that we weren’t always couped up inside, we don’t even have a view.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 7
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amN/A
8am to 9amN/A
9am to 10amFiling tax documents from 2007-2008 alphabetically
10am to 11amCont – Filing tax documents from 2007-2008 alphabetically
11am to 12pmCont – Filing tax documents from 2007-2008 alphabetically
12pm to 1pmLUNCH/BREAK
1pm to 2pmGroup members meeting – We sat through an orientation/presentation on how to improve speed of phone calls when taking appointments and answering basic tax questions. When we need to write down a call back time and when to put the caller on hold.
2pm to 3pmCalling previous clients to schedule appointments for this tax season
3pm to 4pmCalling previous clients to schedule appointments for this tax season
4pm to 5pmN/A
5pm to 6pmN/A
6pm to 7pmN/A
7pm to 8pmN/A
8pm to 9pmN/A
9pm to 10pmN/A
10pm to 11pmN/A
11pm to 12amN/A

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
friend who worked there

What was the application process?
paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, it was very simple I filled out an application then a week later went in and talk to the manager and a supervisor.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
IT was a while ago, I do no recall.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, they were very clear what it was

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, its pretty basic

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go in and apply, hope a position is available, but to do this job you must be able to handle the annoyance of some people, you do get angry phone calls.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organization, ability to multitask, responsible, very patient

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Remain calm on the phone, getting irritated back at someone is rude, inappropriate and will not get the job done.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I’m not sure yet is I want to continue with this or not.

What are your current career goals?
To make more money

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no, thank you

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1sales person1 year7basic sales job at mom and pop type store
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.