Office Assistant (Female, Age 21) in mukilteo, WA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 21 who works as a Office Assistant in mukilteo, WA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Assistant
Salary$15,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week25
Company Size(not answered)
Locationmukilteo, WA
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Country Village is a shopping center. I work as an office assistant in the leasing and management office of the shopping center.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
general office work like filing, copy editing, copying, leasing, and being in charge of events and festivals

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with others everyday. I enjoy the type of work I do and thus the type of people I work with.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
We work in a train car that has been converted into an office. It is a fun and funky environment to work in, and thus I enjoy it,

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 7
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amNot at work during this time
8am to 9amNot at work during this time
9am to 10amEntering the office at 10:00 am.
10am to 11amThis is the time where I come in, organize my day on my calendar, read emails, check messages, and get my day started.
11am to 12pmDuring this time period, I was responding to emails and returning phone calls, as well as taking calls that were coming in.

12pm to 1pmI had a meeting during this time regarding an upcoming event. We were in the intial planning stages, so the goal of the meeting was mostly to get some ideas going about marketing and advertising the event. We also were trying to figure out what sorts of activities we wanted at the event, and also regarding fees for customers and guests coming to the event.
1pm to 2pmWe were still in a meeting at this time. After that, I took a break for lunch.
2pm to 3pmMy time was spent promoting the event. At my work we post on a lot of event sites and utilize social media to promote such events. I was also working on confirming participants in the event.
3pm to 4pmWhile still promoting the event, I was also working on responding to emails, taking calls, and messages. I also worked on some filing and lease agreements during this time.
4pm to 5pmMy last hour of work. I was working on general tasks like responding to email messages, word processing, making copies, continuing to file, and some work on the event from the meeting earlier in the day. The majority of my work is consistent throughout the day and I just participate in other office related tasks in my off time.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
friend of the family

What was the application process?
phone interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
no, just a phone interview/consultation

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
nothing in particular other than availability

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, the job is pretty basic day to day office work

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no there was not

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, i didn’t really need much educational experience besides reading and writing skills

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
this is an internship like position

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Seek out multiple employers and build a good resume centered around similar experience to the job you’re wanting to get.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Communication skills, ability to work well in a team, technical and computer skills, organization skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
i would tell them to put their best foot forward, and be ready to expect the unexpected.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
somewhat, i hope to eventually work in an office but in the design industry

What are your current career goals?
i’m not entirely sure, but i’d eventually like to own my own vbusiness

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
nothing in particular

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1sales associate2 years12/hrworked in a children’s toy store, assisted customers with purchases
Prior Job 2student caller2.5 years10/hrcalled alumni of the university to request donations

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3WSUGraphic Design, BFA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.