Secretary (Female, Age 36) in Boise, ID

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 36 who works as a Secretary in Boise, ID. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSecretary
Salary$11,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBoise, ID
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Ada County Coroner’s Office

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Answer phones, filing, transcription of autopsy dictation by forensic pathologist, data entry, out of county billing, office assistance as needed

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
None

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated but believe I should get benefits

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with one other person in the main office, but for three individuals…the forensic pathologist, the coroner, and the chief deputy coroner. There are also 8 deputies I work with, plus all of the phone calls we receive from law enforcement, medical professionals, family members, attorneys, insurance companies, etc…

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive at work at 7:55 a.m.
8am to 9amI look through my In box to prioritize my morning. I look at our case log to see what cases we have pending, and I start filing and completing the easiest tasks I have while still trying to wake up. I take phone calls, answer questions, call funeral homes, and check with deputies about current open cases.
9am to 10amBy this time the morning staff meeting is complete and our forensic pathologist has started his autopsies. I’m now doing office work like answering phones, billing for out of county cases, entering data into the computer, etc… until the autopsies are dictated and I can transcribe them.
10am to 11amAt least one autopsy or inspection is done by now and I’m transcribing the dictation. I’m handling faxes, taking phone calls, and talking with funeral homes, medical doctors, insurance companies, or law enforcement to fulfill requests for copies of reports.
11am to 12pmI’m working onto the next set of autopsy transcriptions, still answering phones, filing, calling laboratories for specimen pick-up regarding toxicology, helping deputies get medical records, and typing up any changes we have on reports that the pathologist is completing because all of the toxicology or tissue slides have come back.
12pm to 1pmI’m usually at this point working on any special project that any of my supervisors have given me or catching up on my regular work still in my In box since the phones are now off during the lunch hour.
1pm to 2pmPhones usually go crazy after lunch so I help man the phones and direct phone calls. By now I’m just added office help to whatever needs to be done around the office or I’m finishing up my special projects.
2pm to 3pmOff to go home at 2 p.m.
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper

What was the application process?
Submitted resume and paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interviewed once with a group of people that I’d be working with on a daily basis.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Are you able to keep what happens at work confidential even though family and friends will be “just curious?” Can you handle emotionally stressful situations? Are you flexible with your hours? Are you able to multi-task? What can you offer this office if you were hired? What are your three greatest strengths and three greatest weaknesses?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, because my co-worker was there to answer questions every step of the way. If I didn’t understand something, I always had a point of reference to go back to and ask. Sometimes I had to ask the same questions numerous times, but she was always ready to answer and didn’t get frustrated with me. I wasn’t just left alone to figure things out on my own.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Mainly on the job training. I was thrown into the position and my co-worker walked me through each new task as it came up.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not really…only past office type job experience. In this position, we don’t deal with a ton of Hispanic families where I live…although that portion of the community is growing and I’ll more than likely use it more and more as the area grows.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Not applicable.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Have experience with typing, Microsoft Word, Excel, and Outlook, basic office duties, using multi-line phones, can handle working with upset family members and need to not be bothered by graphic descriptions of injuries.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Definitely work on organizational skills because there is a lot of numbers tracking and attention to multiple cases at one time. You would need to be able to work successfully under multiple bosses at the same time, each of which might need something different done “right away.”

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
some college education

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be confident, put yourself out there and take the risk even on applying for the position even if you don’t necessarily have the work experience, be able to handle stress well and be able to leave the job at work when you leave because there are a lot of difficult things you’ll see and hear.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes because as our community grows and we anticipate that it will, we will experience a greater influx of cases…which will mean my job will eventually go full time with benefits. I’m planning on staying here for a long time…maybe until retirement.

What are your current career goals?
I don’t really have any other than to make enough money to support myself and my daughter, and maybe get to travel internationally along the way.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Nothing I can think of at present.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Retail9 months5.50 per hourCustomer service and sales in a gift shop. Freight, inventory, cashiering, cleaning, sales, gift wrapping, displays, etc…
Prior Job 2CSR2 years10.75 per hourOnline customer service and call center representative for a grocery store corporate office starting up an online web site for sales of food items. Answered phones, emails, troubleshooting of computer problems for customers, filing, data entry, etc…

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.85Boise StateSpanish
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.