Cashier/Cook (Male, Age 25) in San Leandro, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 25 who works as a Cashier/Cook in San Leandro, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCashier/Cook
Salary$35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSan Leandro, CA
Years Experience1 month

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the fast food burger joint, In-N-Out. Currently it is employs around 7 workers.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I basically do everything depending on the day. I cook burgers, make fries, work the cash register, and even some janitorial work.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health benefits.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
No, there is alot more work than I am paid for.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I usually work with 6 other people. I like this because it is easier when there is a team helping out during rush hours.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work behind the counter and so it can get very hectic at times. However, the working environment is fun.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 2
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amn/a
8am to 9amn/a
9am to 10amn/a
10am to 11amn/a
11am to 12pmn/a
12pm to 1pmn/a
1pm to 2pmstart afternoon shift. Begin working the grills in line cook.
2pm to 3pmcontinue making orders. take out trash.
3pm to 4pmcontinue making orders. Clean up floor because of soda spill.
4pm to 5pmcontinue making orders.
5pm to 6pmbegin working cash register. take over for drive thru orders temporarily.
6pm to 7pmcontinue working cash register.
7pm to 8pmcontinue working cash register.
8pm to 9pmcontinue working cash register.
9pm to 10pmcontinue working cash register.
10pm to 11pmcontinue working cash register.
11pm to 12amcontinue working cash register until closing. Help with closing. Scrub grills, clean counter tops. Clean up trash around the place. Sweep. Closing time with team member. Lock doors.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was referred the job by a close friend of mine.

What was the application process?
I had to fill out an application and also submit a resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, there was only one interview and it was by the store manager.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What kind of worker I am. What drives me to work at In-N-Out.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I was properly trained by the manager and he thoroughly explained everything.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, basic cashier skills and cooking skills.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, my background made no difference.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Just go to the In-n-out and apply for one.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
None, training is offered.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Not exactly, however, training is required.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Just complete the training and memorize the menu.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, because I am planning on opening an online business selling products of all sorts.

What are your current career goals?
I plan to have a company as big as amazon.com

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
None

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1n/an/an/an/a
Prior Job 2n/an/an/an/a

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.6Uc RiversideBusiness
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3Uc RiversideBusiness

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.