Real Estate Agent (Female, Age 28) in New York, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Real Estate Agent in New York, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Real Estate Agent
Salary $100,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 45
Company Size (not answered)
Location New York, NY
Years Experience 1 month

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a four office Real Estate firm in Manhattan that employs over 200 agents

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I meet with clients, try and find them an apartment and take them step by step through the process

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
None

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I love to work with others. I thrive on being around people so my job is the ideal job for me

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a loft space in the village and adore it

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 7
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Friend

What was the application process?
Met with manager and got job

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
It was a short interview. I just asked a few questions and got the job that day in a half an hour

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I dont really remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, they told me what to expect and it has worked thus far

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There was no training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes because I took public speaking and now feel comfortable to speaking to anyone

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would tell them to go to the NYREI and make sure they pay attention in class and then come work at the company I work for!

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They need to be persistent yet patient and be socialble.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would say put in as much time as you can and it will definitely pay off

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes it is because I want to do Real Estate in the future

What are your current career goals?
To make lots of money and enjoy every minute of it

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No I am 100% happy which is a first for me in a job!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Manager 5 months 60000 I met with clients and hired all of my street teamers
Prior Job 2 Sales person 5 months 55000 Helped to establish a client based company

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.4 Syracuse Communications
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.