Officer (Male, Age 23) in Pittsburgh, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 23 who works as a Officer in Pittsburgh, PA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOfficer
Salary$18,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationPittsburgh, PA
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
An amusement/entertainment place that is very busy in the Spring and Summer months. Employs over 1000 employers.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Duties include ensuring a safe and secure environment, directing traffic, patrolling streets and surrounding grounds.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
1 week guranteed vacation during Summer. Christmas Bonus.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with numerous fellow employees everyday. There is a tedious mundane habit that is involved with no extra incentives or bonuses to look forward too.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I am a local Supervisor that work with fellow Supervisors and co-workers.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 5

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral from family member.

What was the application process?
Filled out applicaiton and had interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
The interview was about basic questions about my lifestyle and past history of working. Interviewed with the HR Director.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Questions about my health, what I am looking for in a job, and hobbies.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, there were numerous trainings and seminars.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Training included 9 weekends with 8 hours days spread across 3 consecutive months. Training included the basic essentials I needed to perform my job safely.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Having a strong education background provided me with a sense of security, as I was one of the more educated qualified individuals in my field.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Stay on tract and do not mess around. There is a different between messing up and messing around, everyone is intitled to their mistakes. It also helps to go to the provided free training to better yourself.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Their is a need for social skills to effectively interact with the general public on a daily basis. Got to have the law enforcement knowledge to handle a problem and also have to be nice and courteous to the people.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
The better training and school, then most likely you will advance quicker.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Take it slow, keep your head on your shoulders, and take any training that is possible.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is a small part of my career plan. Once I get done with my Masters degree I want to use it to go into a security type of mind frame.

What are your current career goals?
Would like to get into a company with good pay.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Officer3+ Years18000I am a Lieutenant with the Public Safety Force for this Amusement Park. Keeping the public and park safe on a daily basis.
Prior Job 2IT Intern3 Years5000Provided assistance with networking and computer labs.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.9

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.3Barton County Community CollegeAssociate of Science
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.8Franklin UniversityBachelor of Information Technology

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.