Teller (Female, Age 23) in Sacramento, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Teller in Sacramento, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Teller
Salary $9,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size (not answered)
Location Sacramento, CA
Years Experience 3 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
The company I work for is an outstanding organization, which does the business of banking. We involve ourselves with the community by volunteering while cross selling our products to those whom live there. We are a community bank that interested in learning about our customers and being personable with them. We have won quite some awards for being the best place to work at in the Sacramento Magazine.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Some of the things I do on my job is cross-sell and record check and cash transactions. I am responsible for opening and closing part of the branch along with my supervisors.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Vacation, sick leave, Kaiser Permanante, Dental, and 401k.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel I am well-compensated at my current position.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I have every few co-workers at my branch, but I do work with various customers daily. This is something I like about my job because I love being at service to all the customers. I like to know that my customers come to me for advice, allowing me to be their personal advisor is nice. I also like knowing that my customers come back to me because of the way I treat them, which makes me like my job.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work collaboratively with both my co-workers and supervisors to get the work done at the branch. Not only that, we work as a team to meet our goals, which we help each other to make better banking.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 7
Benefits: 8
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am Open at 8:45AM. open up the branch as well as get cash and other confidentialities out.
9am to 10am Open the Branch at 9AM for all customers.
10am to 11am
11am to 12pm
12pm to 1pm Lunch for about an hour.
1pm to 2pm Back from Lunch.
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm Get off work at 5:45PM.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm Branch closes at 7PM.
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I found it on the internet.

What was the application process?
it was an electronic application.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I did have an interview with my current job. As a matter of fact, I had two interviews. The first one was a phone interview. I was asked many questions about my skills and questions that most people would ask a person such as: “Why should I hire you? Tell me a problem you had to fix. What made you apply at this job? Do you like working with Customers?” My second interview was with the supervisors at the branch that I currently work at now. They had asked many questions, about the same ones like my first interview. But this time, they asked many questions about customer service, which I believe I did fairly well because I am working there now.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Why should I hire you? Tell me a problem you had to fix. What made you apply at this job? Do you like working with Customers? Have you ever volunteered? What was your last job? Tell me your experience with your last job. Did you get along with your last supervisors?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I do feel that they prepared me for the job because they had already got me into all the classes and made sure I was getting a full-time trainer at the branch for about a week.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, There were lots of training for the position. As a matter of fact, there are still training I have to attend. The training is consisted of avoiding bad checks, noticing fraud, customer service, money laundering, learning Regulations, and much more.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, because I did not get any banking education before getting hired.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I did not receive any internship, so it did not help me prepare for the job.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend them to be personable and like assisting customers. Many people thinks the place I work at is easy to do, yet they hate working with the public. One thing about this job is that you constantly work with customers and people whom you may have never met before, then allowing yourself to be personable with them is a hassle to many people I know. If you do not like working in the public and dislike being personable, then there is no way you are able to get a job like this one.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Before becoming a part of this job, I did not have any source of skill besides the customer service that I had done in the past. This helped me get the job and when I got to the position, I realized how important it was to have this skill. It really helps to get the position with customer service skills. The reason why this skill is important is because we help customers daily and if you do not have the skill, you may not be treating your customers the way they should be treated. Lacking the skill me allow a customer to leave with a bad impression or never coming back. By meeting their needs and allowing them with options will show the customer your skills of how to meet the demand of their problem. This is an important aspect.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I did at first, but after awhile, the level of education does not really help to be successful in the job. But training does help a whole lot!

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
The advice I would give them is to love their job. If they know they are getting themselves into a job they know they will hate, do not try applying for it. If you work at an environment and a place you love, you will never hate working or helping customers. A job like this one requires alot of communication and lacking this quality can hurt you and others.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, because it will help me get ready for future plans if I do decide to stay and help me understand financing my own cash as well.

What are your current career goals?
I have many career goals. One is to open my own business and then volunteer back to the community as well as start my own business journal or magazine to help those in need in the community.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is a great job!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Customer Service Rep 2 yrs 7.5 Assisted customers, cashiering, POS, answering calls, running errands, some accounting, shelving textbooks, and doing online orders.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.4

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.3 Modesto Junior College Business
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.