Financial Analyst (Male, Age 22) in Arcadia, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 22 who works as a Financial Analyst in Arcadia, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFinancial Analyst
Salary$53,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week60
Company Size(not answered)
LocationArcadia, CA
Years Experience3 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Mid-cap video game publisher and developer. We have about 6400 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I provide assurance services for my organization.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 1 week sick leave, HMO health insurance, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, sometimes. Some people area fun to work with, some are not, so it depends.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office, its very corporate feely. But it makes me get in the zone to work.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amAm at work just browsing the web.
8am to 9amDoing SOX testing for general computing controls.
9am to 10amMeeting with the department on our current position and outlook.
10am to 11amMeeting with outside auditors and the studio finance group, going over their internal controls.
11am to 12pmFinishing up SOX testing as aforementioned.
12pm to 1pmLunch with coworkers.
1pm to 2pmResearch project on a company we are trying to investigate.
2pm to 3pmMore general computing controls testing.
3pm to 4pmMore general computing controls testing.
4pm to 5pmCompany-wide gathering to welcome our new CEO.
5pm to 6pmMaking a binder of our organization and company hierarchy.
6pm to 7pmhead home.
7pm to 8pmStill driving home.
8pm to 9pmDaily hygiene activities.
9pm to 10pmSurf the web.
10pm to 11pmsleep.
11pm to 12amsleep.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Career Center from University

What was the application process?
Submitted Resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, 5 interviews, recruiter, Controller, VP of Finance, VP of corporate planning, etc. All individual interviews.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Why do you think you are suited for this job?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, this was the first time they had the program as well, and I feel like they have done as much as they can to prepare me for this job given the relatively new nature of my position.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, a take-home binder packed with information and of course on the job training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, my accounting background really helped me understand some concepts and hit the ground running.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Network early. Improve communication skills.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organization skills. You must be able to juggle many things at one time.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, Finance or business major. Bachelors needed.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Look early, dont give up, network as much as you can.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I plan on getting my Masters after a few years of employment, this job is part of that.

What are your current career goals?
To succeed in this job, advance, and obtain the CFA designation.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Tax Intern8 weeks21.00/hrDid tax preparation for corporations and partnerships.
Prior Job 2Intern10 weeks500 stipendDid research into potential customers, managed database of sales leads.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5UCLABusiness Economics, B.A.
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/AN/AN/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.