Financial Analyst 

(Male, Age 23) from Brookline, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 23 who works as a Financial Analyst in Brookline, MA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Financial Analyst
Salary $42,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Brookline, MA
Years Experience 3 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
300 Employees. Owns and manages about 4000 apartments in the north east.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Analyze new acquisitions and current assets.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacations, 5 sick days, health and dental. 401k up to 4% matched 50%

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 5
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Sleep
8am to 9am Sleep/Commute
9am to 10am Meeting regarding November Financials
10am to 11am Meeting regarding November Financials
11am to 12pm Meeting regarding November Financials
12pm to 1pm Lunch
1pm to 2pm Development meeting for 80 units.
2pm to 3pm Development meeting for 80 units.
3pm to 4pm Development meeting for 80 units.
4pm to 5pm Computer work updating financials
5pm to 6pm commute/eat
6pm to 7pm tv
7pm to 8pm tv
8pm to 9pm tv
9pm to 10pm tv
10pm to 11pm sleep
11pm to 12am sleep

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
submitted resume, phone interview, face to face interview 1, face to face interview 2

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes phone interview, face to face interview 1, face to face interview 2

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
a lot relating to my previous work experience

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, made me comfortable with things prior to assignment me tasks to do independently.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I use many of the skills I learned in my finance classes everyday.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, many of things I do everyday relate to what I did during my internships.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Network. As opposed to going through or similar sites.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Analytical skills and a strong knowledge of finance.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Read the wall st journal and be familiar with the markets and more particularly interest rates.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, it is helping me build the foundation for my future

What are your current career goals?
I hope to one day develop apartment buildings in Southern Florida

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Leasing Associate 3 years 35000 Leasing Apartments.
Prior Job 2 Loan Office 4 months 40000 Making loans.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.2

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 Boston College Finance
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.