Credit Risk Analyst 

(Male, Age 22) from Salinas, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 22 who works as a Credit Risk Analyst in Salinas, CA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Credit Risk Analyst
Salary $40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Salinas, CA
Years Experience 3 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
HSBC – world wide bank. Biggest in Europe.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Prepare the system for credit card applications

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
discounted insurance, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I need to interact with a lot of people. And I like it.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 8

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am wake up and eat breakfast
8am to 9am go to work
9am to 10am check emails
10am to 11am code
11am to 12pm code
12pm to 1pm lunch time
1pm to 2pm attend some meetings
2pm to 3pm attend some meetings
3pm to 4pm code
4pm to 5pm answer more emails
5pm to 6pm go home
6pm to 7pm cook and eat dinner
7pm to 8pm eat dinner
8pm to 9pm watch tv
9pm to 10pm check my email
10pm to 11pm surf the web
11pm to 12am sleep

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet positing

What was the application process?
internet website application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, I had phone interviews and 9 people interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what i can do to contribute to the organization. how my skills are a good fit for the position.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
pretty good but they can do better

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, i had to shadow my seniors for a month.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, my it background gave me the thinking style to do my job

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
i did not have an internship

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go though me and apply.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Be very keen to detail. Analytic and sociable.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
finish college first.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, i plan to build a career with my employer.

What are your current career goals?
learn my job and do it well. get promoted soon.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
nothing else

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.