Business Co Owner/General Employee (Female, Age 22) in butler, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 22 who works as a Business Co Owner/General Employee in butler, IL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleBusiness Co Owner/General Employee
Salary$39,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationbutler, IL
Years Experience3 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
ran by myself and my mom threw online companies such as ebay etsy etc

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
list items

process payments

ship items

find items value

find buyers

sales

general retail

online duties

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
1 week vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
sometimes no communication except computer

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
home office work area

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 7
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amstart online business records update begin updating records of products sold that need shipping payments recieved/cleared general filing this continues into mid morning make lists of products that need listed or price changes as well as lists of general customer emails invoices or contact
8am to 9amsome variation on how this works is threw emailing customers also in some cases phone calls or meetings are arranged to sell bigger products or products to local customers
9am to 10amfinish updates begin product listing for new products using the list from earlier you create your listing on various sites that we sell on
10am to 11amcontinues thrugh morning and then generally stop for lunch some other things that i may do while listing products is do research on a product for how much it is worth how much it can sell for or how rare it is
11am to 12pmstop for lunch around noon and around one begin the second part of my day
12pm to 1pmif finished with new listings start processing payments for items bought and prepare items for shipping/ finishing product shipping continues threw afternoon
1pm to 2pmif i get a payment i get the item ready to ship and place it in the shipping bin mark the item off my list and repeat until i have all the products that were sold and paid for ready to ship
2pm to 3pmi normally will go to the post office and run other general errands go to the bank by any place that may have a sale i’m interested in such as storage shed sales yard sales estate sales pawn shops etc
3pm to 4pmfinish odd jobs such as organizing updating files again and make lists for next day process daily funds at the end of the day to make a list of whats made, how, and through what sites to help keep track of customer base and popularity
4pm to 5pmfinish day and any last minute things printing or filing then i wrap things up and come back and do it the next day on occasion i may attend sales after five or on weekends or throughout my work day
5pm to 6pmresearch on products is done in the evening or after i finish the days last days filing if you get something and don’t know what it is worth exactly or how valuable it is you have to find trademarks, years, certificates of authenticity, apprasied etc.
6pm to 7pmsometimes i do this later at night or in free spare time finding old things or cool products and selling them runs in the family so i guess we never really quit working
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
mom started business

What was the application process?
family business

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
sort of

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
geneeral

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes listing tasks walking through job duties etc

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
general business classes

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes studing business helps you well round an online career

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n.a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
start online companies and begin selling items of value you have aquired threw yard sales trade estate sales or storage auctions

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
organized online abilities computer skills research product skill and techneque developed over time good attitude and patience

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
work hard and after effort and time you will see a huge reward

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
after college i will begin a career in child therapy/ social work i have been continueing my education for this for 3 years after getting bored with business office work

What are your current career goals?
become a social worker or child therapisy

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
n/a

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1listing3 months39000selling things online listing emailing customers processing payments shipping items packing etc
Prior Job 2office worker4 yrs30000not working here anymore business closed. general office contractor company job processing payments bidding jobs dealing with clients payroll filing etc

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7llccbusiness
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.2onlinetherapy social work finishing degree

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.