National Sales Account Executive (Male, Age 27) in Winter Haven, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 27 who works as a National Sales Account Executive in Winter Haven, FL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleNational Sales Account Executive
Salary$38,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationWinter Haven, FL
Years Experience3 Months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for The Ledger, which is the local newspaper owned by The New York Times.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I’m the sole employee in my position for “national” accounts. I sell advertising space in the newspaper, help design ads and provide invoices to my clients.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health, Dental, Accidental Death and Dismemberment, Life, Eye and Hearing Insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under compensated at the moment until I start making more commission.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, on a daily basis I work with my fellow co-workers. I also spend the majority of my day associating with clients over the phone and through email. I enjoy it a great deal.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrived at work at 8 am.
8am to 9amChecked my voice mail and email. Responded to all that I had received after hours the night before. Organized my workspace for the upcoming day.
9am to 10amMade prospecting calls to potential clients as well as servicing existing clients. Made sure all the ads I have for the upcoming paper were all turned in (should’ve already been the night before and all were).
10am to 11amMeeting with my supervisors and other advertising staff. Talked about an upcoming advertising insert based around summer activities… football, beach, bbq, etc.
11am to 12pmWalked to my mail box and fax machine to check for incoming items for myself or anyone in my department. Checked email and voicemail, again. Made a few phone calls in regards to ads for the paper that will be running on Sunday.
12pm to 1pmLunch
1pm to 2pmChecked email and voicemail. Called clients who still need to get information in before the deadline for an upcoming paper. Prospected for clients for upcoming paper additions.
2pm to 3pmContinued to prospect, while answering emails and phone calls.
3pm to 4pmTook a 10 minute break. After arriving back to my desk I continued to prospect for potential clients for our upcoming summer advertising insert.
4pm to 5pmCleaned and organized my desk until 5:00, at which time I left for the day.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral from a woman that did the advertising for the last job I was at.

What was the application process?
Submitted resume online

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I went on three different interviews. One with the HR rep, then two subsequent interviews with supervisors of the advertising department, each interview was seperate.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
They did a lot of mock acting. They’d tell me a situation I could encounter and ask what I’d do in response.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I think I’m able to perform my job with the basic knowledge they provided to me but I feel some people wouldn’t be able to successfully do this job with such little training.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, it was very brief. They gave me an overview of the computer systems we use and how to enter ads.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, however I don’t think a degree should be required. People skills are the most important part of my job and those can’t be learned.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend they pursue a Bachelors degree in Advertising.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Someone in my position needs to be well versed. They need to be able to communicate well with clients and other co-workers. They should have their Bachelors degree in advertising and be able to multi-task.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, it’s required that you have a Bachelors degree.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Not to get overwhelmed by all the information that will be thrown at you. Take notes and organize your workspace before getting started.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Undecided at the time. I’d love to make this postion my life-long career but would like to move up within the company within due time.

What are your current career goals?
To be happy and make a decent wage.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I think that’s pretty much all there is to know!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Car Sales3 years$47,000 (average)Provide assistance to customers for their car buying needs.
Prior Job 2Car Sales1 year33000Provide assistance to customers for their car buying needs.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3American Military UniversityBachelors in Advertising
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.