Server (Female, Age 27) in Columbus, GA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 27 who works as a Server in Columbus, GA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Server
Salary $25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 35
Company Size (not answered)
Location Columbus, GA
Years Experience 3 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Restaurant, not sure what size the entire company is. My location employs approximately 100 people.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Serve food and beverages to customers, handle money and credit cards. End of shift cleaning duties.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with others and deal with people all day. 95% of the time, I love it! There are a few bumps in the road but, that’s life – deal with it and move on! Don’t sweat the small stuff!

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
In the hospitality industry, working together is a must in order to help things run smoothly and avoid negative situations.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 7
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Sleep, feed the baby
8am to 9am Relax, feed & change the baby
9am to 10am Have breakfast
10am to 11am Dishes, laundry, feed the baby
11am to 12pm Shower, baby nap time
12pm to 1pm finish getting ready for work, feed the baby
1pm to 2pm Relax before work, check email, play games online
2pm to 3pm Head to work, eat lunch and catch up with friends at work before starting my shift.
3pm to 4pm Begin shift, check sidework, stock up on any needed items.
4pm to 5pm Begin serving tables, offer specials, advertise happy hour & appitizer specials
5pm to 6pm Continue serving tables, keep up with refilling drinks, getting checks, etc.
6pm to 7pm Re-check stock of supplies, check sidework, continue serving tables
7pm to 8pm Happy hour is over but, still busy with the dinner rush. Continue taking care of guests, turning tables as quickly as possible to make more money!
8pm to 9pm Younger crowd starts coming in – check sidework/supplies again. Keep up with guests requests, assist other servers if need be.
9pm to 10pm Keep on truckin’ – it’s almost over!
10pm to 11pm Last hour for food to be served. Finish up serving tables, offer desserts, last call drinks from bar…
11pm to 12am NO MORE FOOD ORDERS!!! Bar open until 1130. Take last requests, print guest checks, cash out guests and begin closing sidework. Go home, relax and go to bed!

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Walk-in

What was the application process?
paper application, face-to-face interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes – one-on-one interview with a manager

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
when can you work (availability)

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes! Serving tables does not really take much preparation.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, a week’s worth of learning the menu, following another server, being followed and a simple test to make sure everything was understood

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I have previous serving experience.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Put a smile on your face, keep a positive attitude and work hard!

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You should be very social, love to talk to people and be good with money.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes – as there is in every job

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
SMILE!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no, I will go back to teaching next year when my baby is older

What are your current career goals?
Finish my master’s in reading & curriculum

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love kids – that’s why I love teaching!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Teacher 1 year 29500 special education teacher, 9th grade english
Prior Job 2 Teacher 1 year 29000 special education teacher, K-5th, math, reading, language arts

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.4

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2 Florida State University Social Sciences
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.