Sales Lead Apparel (Female, Age 26) in Arnold, MO

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Sales Lead Apparel in Arnold, MO. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Sales Lead Apparel
Salary $21,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Arnold, MO
Years Experience 3 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work in a chain sporting goods store. We have over 300 stores in the US and more than 1000 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I oversee the running of the apparel section of the store. My main duties include processing product, merchandising, changing the floor layout, doing price changes on all apparel and licensed merchandise in the store, making signs for my department, and assisting customers. I have 5 people that report to me and I assign them tasks and assist them in their completion. My secondary duties include working at the customer service desk, overseeing cashiers, and cashiering when necessary.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Paid holidays, the option to buy health, vision, and dental insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Slightly under compensated based on what other people at my location make

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with both coworkers and customers on a daily basis. I enjoy working with others because it can be fun and more fulfilling than being behind a desk all day.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work at a store located in a strip mall. It is nice because it is located around eateries which make lunch breaks better.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
I submitted a paper application.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I had two interviews in one day. One with my direct manager and one with the store manager. These were both individual interviews.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
They asked questions off of a sheet of paper. Things like, “What was the best job you had?” “Think back to a time where you had to deal with a difficult situation, what did you do?” things of that nature. Basically, questions that deal with how you think, handle others, personality, etc.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Getting a job in retail is rather easy, moving up is the difficult part. Look for companies that are expanding. This makes moving up easier to do since new positions are being created. College degrees are usually needed for management. Majoring is business is common, but you can move up with almost any degree. Communication skills are very important, and so is the ability to deal with the public.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills are possibly the most important skills for working in retail. You need to be able to interact with customers and handle their questions and complaints. Also, you’ll have many co-workers so it is important to be able to interact with them to make the work environment better. You also need to be able to prioritize tasks and work independently. You will normally have several things to do while you are at work (e.g., helping customers, keeping your area in order) and managers do not want to have to tell you what to do and when to do it.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
In order to gain promotions, a college degree is a huge plus.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Make sure you know what your company expects of you and how they measure your success. Also, try to get a job at a company that is expanding, this gives you more room to grow.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.